WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Alsaconf....no audio cards found.  (Read 11893 times)

Offline alanl

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Alsaconf....no audio cards found.
« on: August 17, 2011, 09:06:06 PM »
I was using TC-3.  Now have installed TC-3.8.2.  No change in hardware. 
Audio worked with TC-3,  now I can`t set it up.  I have all the Alsa extensions
and deps.  All new software downloaded for the system.  Something must
have changed.  I don`t know where to start looking.

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6769
Re: Alsaconf....no audio cards found.
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2011, 09:22:15 PM »
Hi alanl
Did you install   alsa-driver-2.6.33.3-tinycore.tcz ? If so, did you read in the Info tab where it says
to install this extension before any other ALSA extensions?

Offline alanl

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: Alsaconf....no audio cards found.
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2011, 09:42:53 PM »
I didn`t use alsa-driver in the TC-3 system so I installed alsa-modules.
Then I removed modules and installed driver (to avoid a conflict) but
the result was the same.

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6769
Re: Alsaconf....no audio cards found.
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2011, 09:53:25 PM »
Hi alanl
In order for someone to help you, you really need to provide more information. Which extensions
did you install? What steps did you follow to set up ALSA? Did you run alsaconf? speaker-test?
/usr/local/etc/init.d/alsasound start? What were the results of any commands you ran? Error messages?

Offline andrewb

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
Re: Alsaconf....no audio cards found.
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2011, 11:10:05 PM »
alsa-driver is only the modules - updated for alsa 1.0.24. If you were using alsa before & it worked then don't use alsa-drivers. alsa-modules contains the same files as before (unless JasonW has updated them).

alsa drivers was created at the request of a few of us that were having truoble with the 1.0.23 drivers/modules in the existing extension in the repository. For further information see the post at:http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,11008.0.html

Offline gutmensch

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 606
  • I can make it disappear, have no fear!
    • remembrance blog
Re: Alsaconf....no audio cards found.
« Reply #5 on: August 18, 2011, 01:42:44 AM »
please run an update or extensions and if necessary manually install depmod.tcz, because it is a new dep of alsa (due to change in busybox from tc 3.8 onwards). you may also need to run a "sudo depmod -a" before running /usr/local/etc/init.d/alsasound start". it should work then!
If I seem unduly clear to you, you must have misunderstood what I said. (Alan Greenspan)

Offline alanl

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: Alsaconf....no audio cards found.
« Reply #6 on: August 18, 2011, 07:40:52 PM »
Thank you gutmensch.  Depmod was the answer.  I felt there had to be something
different.  All this talk about drivers...alsaconf should see your audio card before
you select a driver.  Alsaconf still produced....no audio cards found.....but alsasound start
got things working.  A little setting up and now sound works great!
Thanks again.....Alan.

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9659
Re: Alsaconf....no audio cards found.
« Reply #7 on: August 29, 2011, 08:07:32 PM »
I am working on fixing alsaconf, needs some changes to allow 3.x kernel, as well as possibly some stuff related to the busybox upgrade, I am not sure but for me it is not working now either. 


Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 931
  • hi there
Re: Alsaconf....no audio cards found.
« Reply #8 on: August 30, 2011, 04:39:20 PM »
Hello

on virgin boot of tcl 3.8.3 from CD.....it's the same story as you.

Alsoconf does not find any sound cards.

It's not difficult to get sound working, but i imagine the idea is that alsaconf
should be used to configure sound (mostly)

V.

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9659
Re: Alsaconf....no audio cards found.
« Reply #9 on: August 31, 2011, 03:48:44 PM »
There have been some changes to alsaconf.tcz in both 3.x and 4.x repo, please update extensions and try again, there were some issues that have been fixed.


Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 931
  • hi there
Re: Alsaconf....no audio cards found.
« Reply #10 on: August 31, 2011, 04:07:56 PM »
Hello

uh, i am not sure Jason.

It was a virgin boot of tcl 3.8.3 from CD. Then alsa driver 2.6.tzc was installed first.....
......then alsa.tcz then alsaconf.tcz. As per instructions in the info file.

Then running alsaconf, resulted in no soundcards found.

V.

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9659
Re: Alsaconf....no audio cards found.
« Reply #11 on: August 31, 2011, 05:02:54 PM »
What I meant was that there were changes made to the alsaconf extension since you last tried yesterday.

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 931
  • hi there
Re: Alsaconf....no audio cards found.
« Reply #12 on: August 31, 2011, 05:33:27 PM »
oh sorry

i see...

changes are very very recent...(last 8 hours)

thanks for that

V.

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9659
Re: Alsaconf....no audio cards found.
« Reply #13 on: September 01, 2011, 05:45:24 AM »
It's all good.

If you wouldn't mind to check and see if alsaconf works on your machine with TC 4.x I would appreciate it, as there were some additional changes that were done to it because of the new kernel. 

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 931
  • hi there
Re: Alsaconf....no audio cards found.
« Reply #14 on: September 01, 2011, 09:58:22 AM »
Jason,

i can sure check that for you....this evening. However, i only have one re-writable CD disc
so for any future testing it would be best to get another spare disc.

i have just purchased a "port replicator" spare part for my laptop (99 cents). It gives me new connections on the rear of the laptop like PS2 mouse so i can now use bootcodes with tcl. Also it gives me a floppy drive via USB which can be booted into (handy)

Also it gives me a spare USB port which is handy because i can leave a Pen drive permanently plugged in and boot to it using PLOP's tool off floppy. Plop only achieves USB booting if the PEN is plugged directly into the USB port and not through any hub.

V.