WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: USB problems - please help!  (Read 4213 times)

Offline emptybee

USB problems - please help!
« on: March 10, 2009, 10:42:46 AM »
Hi all,

been playing around with TCL today and it works brilliantly. Exactly what I wanted to run on my MSI wind as a secondary OS. I copied it to a usb key using unetbootin and have just figured out how to get the boot options to work (using the waitusb=5 command). However, when I restart the os or shut down and turn on again the usb stick becomes sdb1 (it was previously sda1) this messes with the other boot options I have set to make it persistent. If I go into windows and then restart with the usb in it switches back to sda1 and the persistent bits work again.

Does anyone know why this is and how I can fix it? I'm a novice so please speak slowly! If I can get this working properly I want to go ahead and get the wifi sorted and then I'll have the perfect quickbooting OS I always dreamed of.

Many thanks,
Max

Offline curaga

• Administrator
Re: USB problems - please help!
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2009, 10:52:16 AM »
Most of the options don't need to be specified after the first time if you're using the default values. Such options are for example tce, local, and restore. If they are left out, TC autoscans for the correct device.

Please post your complete boot line.

Oh, and welcome to the forums :)
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline emptybee

« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2009, 12:01:09 PM »
My syslinux.cfg is:

default vesamenu.c32
prompt 0
menu title UNetbootin
timeout 1

label unetbootindefault
menu label tinycore
kernel /boot/bzImage quiet
append initrd=/boot/tinycore.gz quiet waitusb=5 tce=sda1/tce home=sda1/home backup=sda1

The folders tce and home are E:/tce and E:/home respectively is this the right place?

Offline curaga

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2009, 12:14:25 PM »