WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: apache2 not working  (Read 4806 times)

Offline archivista

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
apache2 not working
« on: March 13, 2009, 07:50:55 PM »
When I try to install apache2, I get an error: "An error occured. Try later". What does this mean? Or did someone else have the same problem?

Offline roberts

  • Retired Admins
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: apache2 not working
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2009, 08:11:09 PM »
That is a general error message from appbrowser.
Means there was an error while trying to download and/or checksum the download.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline archivista

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: apache2 not working
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2009, 03:52:38 AM »
Is there a way to get more information what could be wrong? Or can I install apache2 manually?

Offline Jason W

  • Retired Admins
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9730
Re: apache2 not working
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2009, 05:09:16 AM »
If your network connection is working fine, then you may have a partial download of that extension in your tce directory.  In that case, delete the partially downloaded extension as well as it's md5sum file and all should be well.  As you probably know, partially downloaded files are named the same as they are when fully downloaded.

Or, much less likely, somehow the permissions of you tce folder have been changed.  But the first scenario is by far the most likely.  There may be a check for tce folder permissions, but I can't recall and am unable to look or test for that right now.
« Last Edit: March 14, 2009, 05:12:08 AM by Jason W »

Offline archivista

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: apache2 not working
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2009, 03:42:26 PM »
I had the following repositry (which was the default)

distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/tinycorelinux

As I mentioned I always got errors. Then I had a search for apache2.tce and found a mirror, there it worked fine to download. After it I upacked in / directory and then I finally could start it.

Mirror I used: http://www.filewatcher.com/b/ftp/ftp.tu-chemnitz.de/.SAN0/pub/linux/sunsite.unc-mirror/distributions/tinycorelinux/tce.0.0.html
« Last Edit: March 14, 2009, 05:20:37 PM by archivista »

Offline FeK9

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: apache2 not working
« Reply #5 on: March 15, 2009, 03:21:06 PM »
GDay All

I also attempted to install 'apache2' via 'appbrowser' to my 'tce=hda2' directory
and got the same error.

I clear out my 'tce=hda2' of apps and rebooted then reinstall 'Emelfm2 File Manager'
and 'Leafpad Text Editor' without problems, did 'apache2' again and same error.

I also did download both 'apache2' and it's MD5 has text file with my XP box and
checked it's MD5 hash, and it was a match.

Will also attempted the mirror suggested by archivista.

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10992
Re: apache2 not working
« Reply #6 on: March 15, 2009, 03:48:45 PM »
There's a problem in the md5sum files of the extension; instead of the file in the current directory they check against /tmp/apache2/extension. I just fixed it at ibiblio.

The md5sums themselves matched, it was only the filename that was wacky.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline softwaregurl

  • Suspended
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
Re: apache2 not working
« Reply #7 on: March 15, 2009, 04:09:14 PM »
I know what I did wrong.  instead of cding to the directory first I typed the full path to get the md5sum.

Sorry everyone, thanks Curaga.
Old wounds that have never healed need to be re-exposed before the cure can be applied.  The cure must be available before the wound is re-exposed.