Tiny Core Linux

Tiny Core Extensions => TCE Talk => Topic started by: remus on November 16, 2011, 07:37:19 PM

Title: Ezremaster and Static Ip
Post by: remus on November 16, 2011, 07:37:19 PM
Hi all,

I'm experimenting with ezremaster to produce a boot cd that is a samba file server with a static ip, and allows ssh access.

I was reading the wiki about ezremaster at http://wiki.tinycorelinux.net/wiki:remastering_with_ezremaster#planned_features_for_future_releases (http://wiki.tinycorelinux.net/wiki:remastering_with_ezremaster#planned_features_for_future_releases)  and in the list of supported features it has
Quote
Supports setting static IP address on your network interface
However when I went through the ezremaster program I could not see anywhere that I could set a static IP address.

Also the wiki i've linked above has a screen shot of a boot code setup gui that I did not see in the actual program, is there a chance that there is more than one version of this program ?
Title: Re: Ezremaster and Static Ip
Post by: Rich on November 16, 2011, 08:03:31 PM
Hi remus
The wiki also lists a thread for questions on ezremaster.
http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php?topic=6645.0 (http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php?topic=6645.0)
Title: Re: Ezremaster and Static Ip
Post by: ixbrian on November 16, 2011, 11:17:08 PM
Older versions of ezremaster supported setting a static IP through the GUI, but the current version no longer does.   Older ezremaster versions had become bloated with features so the current version is just back to the basics.   I updated the wiki page. 
Title: Re: Ezremaster and Static Ip
Post by: remus on November 17, 2011, 08:32:46 PM
Thx for the link Rick,

Thx for the clarification ixbrian, I will search the forums for info to set a static ip address in tinycore. And make the change persistent. I guess my custom settings will be saved when I remaster :)

If any of you guys have know a (best way) to set a static IP, your input is welcome.
Title: Re: Ezremaster and Static Ip
Post by: Jason W on November 17, 2011, 08:52:38 PM
I use a static ip on my box so I can reliably ssh into it.  Real easy.

Boot with "nodhcp" in the boot codes.

Place something like this in /opt/bootlocal.sh:

ifconfig eth0 192.168.0.10  #  Address for your box
route add default gw 192.168.0.1  # Your internet router or firewall address


Then include in the backup, of course. 
Title: Re: Ezremaster and Static Ip
Post by: gerald_clark on November 17, 2011, 09:51:21 PM
Don't forget to edit /etc/resolv.conf, add "etc/resolv.conf" to /opt/.filetool.lst and do a backup.
Title: Re: Ezremaster and Static Ip
Post by: Rich on November 18, 2011, 12:47:09 AM
Hi remus
The ControlPanel in Tinycore has a Network function that can create a script for you. Here is a
sample called  eth0.sh  located in  /opt
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh
pkill udhcpc
ifconfig eth0 192.168.1.46 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.1.255 up
route add default gw 192.168.1.1
echo nameserver 192.168.1.1 > /etc/resolv.conf
It also adds the following line to  /opt/bootlocal.sh
Code: [Select]
/opt/eth0.sh &Adjust it to your needs.