WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Modify firefox shortcut in wbar?  (Read 3474 times)

Offline Ulysses_

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 232
Modify firefox shortcut in wbar?
« on: April 22, 2011, 06:19:14 AM »
Would rather have firefox start maximized, and it does have command line parameters for something close to that, you can specify -width and -height for the window.

But the firefox command does not appear in dot.wbar.  Where is it?  Am I not allowed to edit the wbar command for firefox?

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: Modify firefox shortcut in wbar?
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2011, 09:54:11 AM »
dot.wbar is the static system icons. Everything else is dynamic.
The dynamic file is /usr/local/tce.icons. No point to edit it as it is dynamic.
 One can always script edit it or even overwrite it,

However, If using ondemand, then much easier to edit the firefox  ondemand script located in your tce/ondemand directory.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline Ulysses_

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 232
Re: Modify firefox shortcut in wbar?
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2011, 01:51:50 PM »
One can always script edit it or even overwrite it,

However, If using ondemand, then much easier to edit the firefox  ondemand script located in your tce/ondemand directory.

You mean a script that runs something like "sed" or other horrid automatic editor on the dynamically generated tce.icons? Can't just override it because more applications may subsequently be added.
« Last Edit: April 22, 2011, 01:54:49 PM by Ulysses_ »

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: Modify firefox shortcut in wbar?
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2011, 03:40:04 PM »
If you don't like the way an extension works, either contact its package maintainer or make yourself a customized version. Perhaps a non-dynamic, traditional distribution would be more to your liking.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline jur

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 863
    • cycling photo essays
Re: Modify firefox shortcut in wbar?
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2011, 04:28:24 PM »
Just set ff as OnDemand, go to /tce/OnDemand and edit the script file directly, replacing the simple command with the simple command + command line switch.

(But it should actually save the preferred or last window setting...? Whst happend if you maximize it, close and re-open?)

Offline Ulysses_

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 232
Re: Modify firefox shortcut in wbar?
« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2011, 05:15:34 PM »
Aren't you roberts the package manager for core components like this?  Anyway, appending to tce.icons from a script run from tce/ondemand does not seem to work (change is lost at startx), but here's a way that works:

Any new user reading might save trouble by creating their own wbar as follows, which works very nicely as it is fully under user control.  Modifying the $ICONS line in ~/.xsession as follows:

[ $(which "$ICONS".sh) ] && ${ICONS}.sh && ~/my_wbar.sh >/dev/null &

where ~/my_wbar.sh is marked as executable using chmod a+x ~/my_wbar.sh and contains:

/usr/bin/wbar -p bot-left -hbar -zoomf 1.00001 -isize 24 -balfa 0 -always-ontop -config ~/my_wbar.icons

Which requires a file ~/my_wbar.icons that contains:

# The Bar && Font && Font size (11)
i: /usr/share/wbar/osxbarback.png
t: /usr/share/fonts/luxisr/11
c:
i: /usr/local/share/pixmaps/firefox.png
t: Firefox
c: exec /usr/local/firefox-official/firefox -width 1650 -height 932

To be edited as required.
« Last Edit: April 22, 2011, 05:19:34 PM by Ulysses_ »

Offline Ulysses_

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 232
Re: Modify firefox shortcut in wbar?
« Reply #6 on: April 22, 2011, 05:16:49 PM »
Just set ff as OnDemand, go to /tce/OnDemand and edit the script file directly, replacing the simple command with the simple command + command line switch.

(But it should actually save the preferred or last window setting...? Whst happend if you maximize it, close and re-open?)

Saw this after posting, thanks. Would rather have firefox and the wbar automatically loaded and available.
« Last Edit: April 22, 2011, 05:23:42 PM by Ulysses_ »