Author Topic: Grub Menu Problem  (Read 3037 times)

Offline cURIOUSgEORGE

Grub Menu Problem
« on: January 17, 2011, 11:24:53 PM »
I installed "Microcore" and everything is great except one thing - GRUB! I'm sure it's a simply problem for you experienced users but I'm new to Linux. Okay, my "HUGE" problem is that when I boot my computer "I don't get a grub menu but instead I get a Grub prompt to type kernel /boot/bzImage quiet and then initrd /boot/microcore.gz and then boot. I followed the basic guide from http://www.tinycorelinux.com/install.html but I can't understand why I need to type all of the commands in - why am I not getting a grub menu and how can I fix this so I do get a menu-so I can simply click what system I want to choose

Microcore is the only OS I have on this computer

Thanks for any help in advance guys
« Last Edit: January 17, 2011, 11:41:57 PM by cURIOUSgEORGE »

Offline maro

Re: Grub Menu Problem
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2011, 11:49:42 PM »
You'll need a GRUB configuration file if you want to avoid having to type those commands at the GRUB prompt.

Assuming that you've used (legacy) GRUB (i.e. from the 'grub-0.97-splash.tcz' extension) that config file should be '/boot/grub/menu.lst' on your file system. Have another look at this section of the instructions, and keep in mind to replace 'microcore.gz' for 'tinycore.gz' in your case.

Offline cURIOUSgEORGE

« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2011, 12:11:53 AM »
Hmmmmm I guess I didn't save the configuration file. I can't seem to find it anywhere. I followed the guide completely "replacing tinycore with microcore" though, but I don't think it's saving when I press :x and then enter. Arrgh what am I doing wrong ???

So if I follow that part of grub in the guide but replace tinycore with microcore "Like I have been" then it should boot into a grub menu screen "on boot up"?

If that's the case then I'll be good to go once I can figure out how to save my configuration.