WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Geany - Show Output from Scripts?  (Read 4836 times)

Offline Nate

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Geany - Show Output from Scripts?
« on: February 27, 2011, 05:05:38 PM »
Hello,

I'm trying to use the geany package that's in the tiny core Apps.

I notice that when I try to Execute a ruby or bash script from within Geany,
a terminal or some kind of message box pops up and then goes away quickly.

In fact, I don't think that Geany is running the scripts at all, because I wrote a
shell script like this:

#!/bin/sh
echo 'boo' >> ~/boo.txt

And ~/boo.txt is not created when I click "Execute" in Geany.

When I run $geany -v, I see "Could not load libvte.so, embedded terminal support
disabled". 

Does this message have anything to do with not being able to see the output
of scripts when I run them in Geany?

Thanks,
--Nate

Offline Jason W

  • Retired Admins
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9730
Re: Geany - Show Output from Scripts?
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2011, 05:12:25 PM »
I will look into this and hopefully find a solution.

Offline Nate

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Geany - Show Output from Scripts?
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2011, 05:17:47 PM »
I installed "vte.tcz" from the Apps application, and I no longer get the "cannot load libvte.so".

The purpose of libvte.so ( I think ) is to show a built-in terminal in Geany.

The "Execute" functionality in Geany still doesn't work though.

An interesting thing, is that I can press "Compile" on a ruby script, and I get the output:

"ruby -c hello_world.rb" (in directory /home/tc/src/ruby)
Compilation finished successfully
Syntax OK

Thanks for the lightning fast reply!

Offline Jason W

  • Retired Admins
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9730
Re: Geany - Show Output from Scripts?
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2011, 05:55:26 PM »
To make the Execute function work for scripts, go to Edit > Preferences > Tools, and then in the Terminal box change the command from "xterm" to "xterm -e sh -c".  Of course, that could also be "aterm -e sh -c".

I don't like to supply premade config files with extensions to copy over upon install if I can help it, so I will change the default entry to the one above and rebuild the extension, I will aim for tonight.

And I will make a note in the info file about vte.tcz.

Offline Jason W

  • Retired Admins
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9730
Re: Geany - Show Output from Scripts?
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2011, 06:58:34 PM »
Updated to 0.20 and made "aterm -e sh -c" the default terminal command so the Execute function should work 'out of the box'.

Offline hiro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1229
Re: Geany - Show Output from Scripts?
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2011, 07:40:25 PM »
I don't like to supply premade config files with extensions to copy over upon install

Based on what rationale?

Offline Jason W

  • Retired Admins
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9730
Re: Geany - Show Output from Scripts?
« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2011, 08:03:18 PM »
Personal preference.  If one updates Geany now, they will have a working execute command without having to alter or replace their existing config files.

Offline Nate

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Geany - Show Output from Scripts?
« Reply #7 on: February 28, 2011, 11:57:42 AM »
Personal preference.  If one updates Geany now, they will have a working execute command without having to alter or replace their existing config files.

I updated Geany, and it does not work.  I restarted Tiny Core after using the "App Audit" program's "Update" feature.  It showed that Geany had an update, and I verified that its version was 0.20.  I'm running it off of a USB key, so I don't know if that makes a difference.

I did test the new Geany on a clean Tiny Core, and it does Execute the scripts correctly.

Thanks a lot for the quick response and updates!  We will be using TinyCore/Geany
at Byteworks in St. Louis.  Byteworks is a non-profit that helps underprivileged kids get access to computers and computer classes.  http://stlbyteworks.org

--Nate

Offline Jason W

  • Retired Admins
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9730
Re: Geany - Show Output from Scripts?
« Reply #8 on: February 28, 2011, 04:59:39 PM »
What does not work so I can look into it?