WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: tce loaded successfully? ...minefield? oo2? opera-locals?  (Read 5138 times)

Offline enirom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
tce loaded successfully? ...minefield? oo2? opera-locals?
« on: March 24, 2009, 08:51:09 AM »
I have loaded tiny core linux on a flash stick and successfully
booted a few different netbooks. The flash stick also contains a tce dir
for tce packages. Mounting the tce dir and doing a local install seems to load
the package.

TCEs are still a mystery....

Using the apps browser and doing a local install generates a pop up
that the program is loaded. How do I know what file to invoke a package?
cfdisk seems to get loaded and execute "cfdisk" but other
more complicated packages are a problem. compiletc does list the
executables in info and a quick test of gcc indicates that it is loaded properly.

When I local install minefield, an icon appears but nothing seems to
happen if I right, left, single, or double click on it. Is there a set up or config
that needs to be set? When I loaded minefield, a windows did appear to open
but it closed quickly.

The OpenOffice tce has the same behavior (didn't see a window open and close quickly)...


Offline roberts

  • Retired Admins
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: tce loaded successfully? ...minefield? oo2? opera-locals?
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2009, 07:13:15 PM »
You should not have to perform a 'local install', try adding waitusb=5 to your boot options.
Most extensions should provide a menu iterm, right click on the desktop and look in Apps.
If an extension appears to fail, i.e., window flashes and is gone. Try opening an Xshell and issue the command there. That might produce an error and you can report it here. If you are using all .tce types note that they load into memory. Minefield and oo2 are both huge. Might be you are out of memory. You may want to try tcz version(s). These are mounted and therefore use way less memory.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline enirom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: tce loaded successfully? ...minefield? oo2? opera-locals?
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2009, 06:16:48 AM »
"Most extensions should provide a menu iterm"

can you point me to more info regarding iterm?

"Try opening an Xshell and issue the command there"
What command? ...minefield?

"Might be you are out of memory"
This netbook has 1G of ram.

"You may want to try tcz version(s). These are mounted and therefore use way less memory."
Is a tcz slower? Is it compressed? I assumed that both tce and tcez were loaded into memory. Is the tce loaded into ram and the tcz loaded into the
filesystem that is created out of ram?

Offline enirom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: tce loaded successfully? ...minefield? oo2? opera-locals?
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2009, 08:03:08 AM »
I found the executable and invoked it from an xterm window.
The browser .list suggestion made it very easy.

The error generated indicates that libgtk is needed. Is the a tce for this lib?
Are there other dependencies to consider?



Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14643
Re: tce loaded successfully? ...minefield? oo2? opera-locals?
« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2009, 08:17:41 AM »
If you read the .info file for the various extensions, it will explain what other extensions they depend upon - for instance oo2.tcel depends on expat2.tcel, fontconfig.tcel & libxml2.tcel, so you need to load these before trying to run oo2.

If you use the appbrowser to download extensions, it will automatically download the dependencies.

Offline tobiaus

  • Suspended
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 599
Re: tce loaded successfully? ...minefield? oo2? opera-locals?
« Reply #5 on: March 27, 2009, 05:33:07 AM »
If you read the .info file for the various extensions, it will explain what other extensions they depend upon

that's what i used to do but .info files don't always list the deps. i use .dep files for that now.

Offline enirom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: tce loaded successfully? ...minefield? oo2? opera-locals?
« Reply #6 on: March 27, 2009, 06:53:59 AM »
The minefield info button doesn't display any dependencies.
Is the .info file the info button that is displayed on the download list page?
Is it in the tar file?

Where is the .dep file?

IMHO, the documentation is lacking. I really hate having to ask these basic questions. I was using and building linux off and on since it was first introduced but I've been away from development for 7 years. I'm using Tiny Core to brush up my skills. Can I install it? Can I build it from scratch?
Did the build work?...not to ruffle any feathers but I initially started my
effort with DSL.

There are a few concepts discussed in the forums as if everyone knows the subject. This project needs some basics explained to the masses.

I hope that there was no offense taken from my comments. My compliments to the chefs.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14643
Re: tce loaded successfully? ...minefield? oo2? opera-locals?
« Reply #7 on: March 27, 2009, 10:16:08 AM »
You're correct, the info file is the link next to the extension name on the download page. The dep file does not have a link, but if you're interested you can see it by substituting .dep for .info in the url for the info file.

Maybe it would be better to download and manually load an extension from a terminal window to check if there are any error messages.

I don't use minefield, but according to the dep file, it depends on the following extensions:

expat2.tcel
glib2.tcel
graphics-libs-1.tcel
libxml2.tcel
fontconfig.tcel
gtk+-2.tcel

If you download these one by one and store them somewhere permanent, you can load them individually as follows from a terminal window:
Code: [Select]
$ tce-load /path-to-file/expat2.tcel
$ tce-load /path-to-file/glib2.tcel
...
$ tce-load /path-to-file/gtk+-2.tcel
$ tce-load /path-to-file/minefield.tce

This way you'll see any error messages in the terminal window and hopefully get to the bottom of the problem. If everything goes well, you should be able to launch firefox from the icon at the bottom of the screen.

Offline roberts

  • Retired Admins
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: tce loaded successfully? ...minefield? oo2? opera-locals?
« Reply #8 on: March 27, 2009, 10:47:54 AM »
Use of the appbrowser GUI will load the dep files.
Manually downloading individual files via a web browser will not.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.