WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Installation question  (Read 2776 times)

Offline mb123

Installation question
« on: December 11, 2010, 12:25:41 PM »
Hi All

I'm a TC newbie and have been trying to install to my old Sony VAIO laptop following the instructions on this site and also on Youtube. Everything seems to go fine until I get to the stage when I need to copy the boot file from the CD to the hard disk -:  cp -p /mnt/hdc/boot/* /mnt/hda/boot/      Using the preceding command, I keep getting an error message along the lines of - can't stat /mnt/hdc/boot/* no such file or directory.

I'd appreciate any assistance on this. Am I inputting the wrong command?

Thanks in anticipation

M

Online Juanito

• Administrator
Re: Installation question
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2010, 12:52:41 PM »
Maybe cp -p /mnt/hdc/boot/* /mnt/hda1/boot/ or similar?

Offline mb123

« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2010, 01:01:11 PM »
Hi Juanito

Thanks for your speedy reply. My original post should have read hda1 as opposed to merely hda.

Any other suggestions??

Regards

M

Offline tinypoodle

« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2010, 02:14:32 PM »
Are you sure /mnt/hdc is mounted first?
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline mb123

« Reply #4 on: December 12, 2010, 09:07:55 AM »
Hi, yes, hdc is mounted. Could it be due to trying to install from a Linux Format coverdisc with other distros on there? Might it be better to download and burn iso file to cd?

Cheers

Offline curaga

• Administrator
« Reply #5 on: December 12, 2010, 09:39:22 AM »
Oh, you should've mentioned that earlier. The file paths are likely to be different on a modified disc.

You could either search for them on that disc, burn a TC one, or just download them.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline Guy

« Reply #6 on: December 12, 2010, 10:02:07 AM »