WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Noobie Application Install Issues  (Read 2879 times)

Pseudoman

  • Guest
Noobie Application Install Issues
« on: August 21, 2010, 06:38:59 PM »
Hi, I'm new to TCL, as the post's Title may indicate, and I am having troubles installing applications. I have the TCL setup using syslinux, booting from a USB flash-drive.
Currently, I am trying to install the applications localy, since I don't want to have my TCL-machine connected to the internet. Trouble is, it (Appbrowser) comes up with an error about mounting one directory onto another, which in itself sounds a bit odd. I have the apps, in tcz files (it didn't like the .tce files I tried feeding it), placed into the /tce/options/ directory. There must some obvious step(s) that I am missing. Any help on the subject will be appreciated. Thanks.

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: Noobie Application Install Issues
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2010, 06:47:41 PM »
The files go in the tce/optional ( not options) directory on the USB drive.
Make sure to include the waitusb=5 boot option.

If you are installing applications without using the AppBrowser, you must also manually download
all dependencies.

Pseudoman

  • Guest
Re: Noobie Application Install Issues
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2010, 06:56:44 PM »
Yeah, I meant to write /tce/optional/, but I'll double check.
I have the dependencies downloaded as well (including the .dep files), I forgot to mention that, and I am using AppBrowser's local install feature. I'll try the waitsub=5 boot option.
Would the /tce/optional/ look like h:\tce\optional\ on a Windows system, or does it have to got into the TCL file system? Currently, I have both scenarios in action.
« Last Edit: August 21, 2010, 07:25:09 PM by Pseudoman »

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: Noobie Application Install Issues
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2010, 10:51:45 PM »
.tce extensions are deprecated.  ;)
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Pseudoman

  • Guest
Re: Noobie Application Install Issues
« Reply #4 on: August 23, 2010, 09:20:50 AM »
The specific error I receive is this:
"mount: mounting /dev/loop0 on /tmp/tcloop/glib failed: invalid argument"

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: Noobie Application Install Issues
« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2010, 10:12:05 AM »
Are you sure it says "glib" ?
I only see glib1 or glib2.
Which version of TC are you running?
Where from exactly did you get all your extensions which don't seem to work?
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Pseudoman

  • Guest
Re: Noobie Application Install Issues
« Reply #6 on: August 23, 2010, 02:07:32 PM »
That's what the error read, I'm running the "current version" (3.0, I assume), and I got the extensions from the VIM ftp mirror.
I was able to install the extensions to install through the internet via the AppBrowser, but I am thus unsuccessful in completing an installation based on local files.
To further develop this dilemna, TLC is not recognizing any /tce/optional/ directory, nor does it allow me to create one. This is a problem because I cannot use "getflash10." The entire /tce/ directory is missing, or at least it is not being recognized. Thank you for the help so far, I really appreciate it.

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: Noobie Application Install Issues
« Reply #7 on: August 23, 2010, 09:59:51 PM »
Code: [Select]
tce-setdrive

You should be able to use getflash10 without any need of a PPR. Running in default mode tce dir is /tmp/tce
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline eluring

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Noobie Application Install Issues
« Reply #8 on: August 26, 2010, 06:45:48 AM »
Quote
unsuccessful in completing an installation based on local files.
In Appbrowser Local Filename is the name of directory
 for example: /mnt/sda2/tce/optional (highlighted)
 and the extensions are displayed
right?
If you change to your local files on another directory
 in my example: /mnt/sda2/tce/optional
 there is no extensions displayed
right?
Just append a slash at the end
 in my examle /mnt/sda2/tce/optional/

success?

Is a filename without slash a dirname ?  :'(
or is this a tiny bug? ???

Everyone is a foreigner, almost everywhere.

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: Noobie Application Install Issues
« Reply #9 on: August 26, 2010, 07:03:49 AM »
requires double-click  ;)
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline SteGriff

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Noobie Application Install Issues
« Reply #10 on: September 11, 2010, 10:22:52 AM »
Hi.

I have a similar problem trying to install openjdk-7-jre.tcz

I am using AppBrowser. The tcz is downloaded, and I try to use Local install. I select the right package from the file dialog box, and get the error:

Code: [Select]
mount: mounting /dev/loop5 on /tmp/tcloop/openjdk-7-jre failed: Invalid Argument

I tried to manually tce-load from console and got the same error.
Sorry if this is considered a long bump in this community :)

Ste