WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: preventing screen going blank  (Read 3139 times)

Offline ml

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
preventing screen going blank
« on: March 31, 2010, 06:12:06 AM »
Is there a way to prevent sreen going blank in microcore?
I tried “setterm -powersave off -blank 0”, but it seems that this command is not a part of microcore.
Is there an extension that I have to install?
Thanks in advance

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11043
Re: preventing screen going blank
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2010, 06:58:02 AM »
setterm is a part of the util-linux-ng extension. Alternatively, you could just look up the terminal ANSI code it uses to set that, and use echo.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14794
Re: preventing screen going blank
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2010, 07:16:11 AM »
the vbetool extension might also be able to do this?

Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2135
Re: preventing screen going blank
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2010, 08:33:36 PM »
Code: [Select]
xset -dpms
dCore user

Offline ml

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: preventing screen going blank
« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2010, 04:33:02 AM »
Code: [Select]
xset -dpms
This command doesn’t work in microcore.

The util-linux-ng did the job.
Thanks

Offline vr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: preventing screen going blank
« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2010, 11:13:03 AM »
Replying/bumping + subscribing to thread because I need to know this answer too. None of the options mentioned so far work for me either.

Edit: nevermind, got it working per my other thread.
« Last Edit: April 08, 2010, 04:30:09 PM by vr »

Offline AlabamaPaul

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: preventing screen going blank
« Reply #6 on: July 28, 2010, 06:50:51 AM »
What I found was that the setterm solution worked, until I issued a "reset" command, which restored the defaults.

The consoleblank kernel command line option can be used to control the console blanking. By adding "consoleblank=0" to my Tiny Core 3.x kernel command line, I disables the console blanking.

Offline Lee

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 645
    • My Core wiki user page
Re: preventing screen going blank
« Reply #7 on: July 28, 2010, 10:22:30 AM »
There's a great solution to this, coming  from the Windows XP world (sort of)...

When my ten-year-olds are playing a game on their mother's computer, they know that if they pause it and walk away for a few minutes the screen-saver will kick in and Mom will, more likely than not, -not- drop what she's doing to come and enter the password yet again for them.  So when they need to step away from the computer for whatever reason, they issue the following command:

Code: [Select]
Peter, move the mouse around until we get back.

... and, if he's feeling cooperative, their four-year-old brother will keep the timeout from expiring.  This is approximately as reliable as everything else that happens on a Windows system.
32 bit core4.7.7, Xprogs, Xorg-7.6, wbar, jwm  |  - Testing -
PPR, data persistence through filetool.sh          |  32 bit core 8.0 alpha 1
USB Flash drive, one partition, ext2, grub4dos  | Otherwise similar

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: preventing screen going blank
« Reply #8 on: July 28, 2010, 12:55:26 PM »
I place a heavy metallic lighter on the Fn key  ;)
(I shit you not!)
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline AlabamaPaul

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: preventing screen going blank
« Reply #9 on: July 28, 2010, 05:23:44 PM »
With those pesky U.S. Child Labor laws I don't have any 4 year olds at the office (besides, eventually their cookie crumbs will muck up the keyboard), and the lighter is effective (I've used a "Post-It" note wedged between keys), but my management would frown on either of these as a long term solution.

This leaves me the kernel command line option which works.

Well, I guess I could use a co-op instead of the 4 year old, but somehow I don't think that would meet with management approval either.