WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: kmaps Newbie here and fail to get Swedish going  (Read 4237 times)

Offline newbody

kmaps Newbie here and fail to get Swedish going
« on: February 07, 2010, 01:14:37 AM »
I first downloaded kmaps.tcz and then did
sudo loadkmap < /usr/share/kmap/fi-latin9.kmap

But no special chars typical for Swedish.

What could have gone wrong?

Should one restart or something for it to work?

I am writing from Firefox and TC now. Installed using the frugal with two files on / and small text in menu.lst on grub4dos neogrub version.

How does one make the changes of keyboard permanent?  sorry two question in one post.
Acer D250, Snow Puppy, TinyCore and on HP SR5622, Snow Puppy,

Offline alu

Re: kmaps Newbie here and fail to get Swedish going
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2010, 02:01:29 AM »
after loading your kmap file, you have to restart X (ctrl+alt+backspace). you can add the following line to your file /opt/bootlocal.sh:

loadkmap < /usr/share/kmap/fi-latin9.kmap

don't forget to do a backup in order to save the changes done to bootlocal.sh

Offline 4-stroke

« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2010, 02:26:07 AM »
sudo loadkmap < /usr/share/kmap/fi-latin9.kmap

But no special chars typical for Swedish.

What could have gone wrong?

You need the sv-latin1.kmap for åäö. I don't have Tinycore installed right now, but I think that's what it was called.

Edit: Yes, it is. I just checked.
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/tinycorelinux/2.x/tcz/kmaps.tcz.list
« Last Edit: February 07, 2010, 02:34:57 AM by 4-stroke »
A learning experience is one of those things that say, "You know that thing you just did? Don't do that." - Douglas Adams

Offline newbody

« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2010, 04:09:43 AM »
Thanks, I also need to learn how one can set it persistent in frugal install from internal HDD.

Could one not do us other linux distros that one add something like that in the boot up menu.lst