WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Help: Howto Convert tce to tcz  (Read 2687 times)

Offline mrwutang

Help: Howto Convert tce to tcz
« on: November 13, 2009, 07:38:31 AM »
Hey all, hows everybody?Im new to Linux and been using Ubuntu for past 6 months. Found Tinycore on google and decided to try it out, its awsom. Tiny distro which I can carry around in ma pendrive, daym what else could I ask for ;D. So all the extension I downloaded are tce, and now its takin a toll on ma ram, is there any way I can convert them to tcz? There are a lotta files and I've a slowass net.Dont wanna spend another day downloading all that stuff. :o
Also if theres any other way to get tinycore to copy all my files to pendrive instead of ram, it'd be cool. Sory, if this is a lame question yall. Using TC has been a great experience so far, if I can fix this, theres no need to go back to ubuntu for me, I can be all TC all tha way  :P. Thnx for any help.
Edit: I also googled it a lot. COuldnt find anything. Im stumped.
« Last Edit: November 13, 2009, 07:45:30 AM by mrwutang »

Offline Juanito

• Administrator
Re: Help: Howto Convert tce to tcz
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2009, 07:57:30 AM »
So all the extension I downloaded are tce, and now its takin a toll on ma ram, is there any way I can convert them to tcz? There are a lotta files and I've a slowass net.Dont wanna spend another day downloading all that stuff.

If you have or download the squashfs-tools-4.0.tcz and tar.tcz extensions, you can convert your tce extensions like this:
Code: [Select]
$ mkdir /tmp/pkg
$ cd /tmp/pkg
$ cp /path-to-extension/extension.tce /tmp/pkg
$ sudo tar xzf extension.tce
$ rm extension.tce
$ cd ..
$ sudo mksquashfs pkg/ extension.tcz
$ sudo chown tc:staff extension.tcz
$ cp extension.tcz /path-to-safe-place