WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: How to display Chinese in xterm or aterm  (Read 529 times)

Offline bobowsh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
How to display Chinese in xterm or aterm
« on: December 14, 2024, 09:23:17 AM »
I tried to config like this below, but it does'nt work,
Code: [Select]
Aterm*scrollBar: true
Aterm*transparent: true
Aterm*title: Terminal
Aterm*foreground: white
Aterm*background: black
Aterm*font: WenQuanYi Zen Hei
Aterm*cursorColor: green
Aterm*fading: 70
Aterm*shading: 50
Aterm*color12: DodgerBlue1
Aterm*saveLines: 1000
fltk*scheme: gtk+
Xft.dpi: 96.0

Code: [Select]
! English font
! xterm*faceName: DejaVu Sans Mono:antialias=True:pixelsize=13
! Chinese font
Aterm*faceNameDoublesize:WenQuanYi Zen Hei:antialias=True:pixelsize=13

Code: [Select]
Aterm*faceName: WenQuanYi Zen Hei
Aterm*faceSize: 12

Code: [Select]
Aterm*locale:true
Aterm.utf8: true

 
Code: [Select]
!font and locale
 xterm*locale: true
 xterm.utf8:     true
 xterm*utf8Title: true
 xterm*fontMenu*fontdefault*Label: Default
 xterm*faceName:WenQuanYi Zen Hei:antialias=True:pixelsize=16
 !xterm*faceName: monofur:antialias=True:pixelsize=20
 xter*boldFont: WenQuanYi Zen Hei Mono:style=Bold:pixelsize=15
 xterm*faceNameDoublesize:WenQuanYi Zen Hei:antialias=True:pixelsize=15
 xterm*xftAntialias: true
 xterm.cjkWidth:true
 XTerm*preeditType: Root

    [Edit]: Added code tags.  Rich
« Last Edit: December 31, 2024, 11:34:41 AM by Rich »

Offline polikuo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 759
Re: How to display Chinese in xterm or aterm
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2024, 09:49:48 AM »
Hi, bobowsh.

Use a different terminal, aterm doesn't support UTF-8

Which port are you using ?

Try rxvt, vte, lxterminal, genome-terminal ... etc.

You'll also need True Type Fonts such as unifont, notosans ... etc.

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11721
Re: How to display Chinese in xterm or aterm
« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2024, 10:28:28 AM »
Hi polikuo
... Try rxvt, vte, lxterminal, genome-terminal ... etc. ...
Did you mean  gnome-terminal ?

Offline polikuo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 759
Re: How to display Chinese in xterm or aterm
« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2024, 10:41:01 AM »
Ha~, ha~
Nice catch
Yes, I mean gnome-terminal
This isn't molecular biology.

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11721
Re: How to display Chinese in xterm or aterm
« Reply #4 on: December 14, 2024, 10:53:23 AM »
Hi polikuo
... This isn't molecular biology.
True, but not everyone who reads that post in the future
may be aware of gnome.

I've been on a few wild goose chases because someone
looking for help misspelled an item I was not familiar with.

Offline GNUser

  • Wiki Author
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1533
Re: How to display Chinese in xterm or aterm
« Reply #5 on: December 14, 2024, 11:04:50 AM »
True, but not everyone who reads that post in the future
may be aware of gnome.
A future in which a person would be aware of TCL (at least enough to be reading this thread) and unaware of gnome? I love it. Sounds like my kind of future :)

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11721
Re: How to display Chinese in xterm or aterm
« Reply #6 on: December 14, 2024, 01:06:51 PM »
Hi GNUser
... a person would be aware of TCL (at least enough to be reading this thread) and unaware of gnome? ...
Then I guess you've never seen any posts resembling this:
Quote
I'm trying to install Tinycore but I'm having some problems. I'm coming from
Windows and want to turn an old machine into a jukebox.
Or:
Quote
Noobie here...........first post. Trying to become more comfortable using Linux, but still at a rudimentary level of understanding.

Offline GNUser

  • Wiki Author
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1533
Re: How to display Chinese in xterm or aterm
« Reply #7 on: December 14, 2024, 03:54:30 PM »
Hi Rich. I guess some people take a lot less time to see the light than I did. I wish I were like the newbies in these posts! Finding TCL sooner in my FOSS journey would have saved me a lot of time and aggravation.

Offline bobowsh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: How to display Chinese in xterm or aterm
« Reply #8 on: December 31, 2024, 09:07:10 AM »
Thank you for best reply

Another question,how to increase Screen resolution, the bootcode only max to 1280*1024
Code: [Select]
Color            640x480     800x600      1024x768     1280x1024
   256    8 bit     769         771           773          775
 32000   15 bit     784         787           790          793
 65000   16 bit     785         788           791          794
 16.7M   24 bit     786         789           792          795

    [Edit]: Added code tags.  Rich
« Last Edit: December 31, 2024, 11:35:21 AM by Rich »

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11721
Re: How to display Chinese in xterm or aterm
« Reply #9 on: December 31, 2024, 11:35:45 AM »
Hi bobowsh
Please use  Code Tags  when posting commands and responses seen in a terminal. To use  Code Tags  click on the  #  icon
above the reply box and paste your text between the  Code Tags  as shown in this example:

Quote
[code][   36.176529] pcm512x 1-004d: Failed to get supply 'AVDD': -517
[   36.176536] pcm512x 1-004d: Failed to get supplies: -517
[   36.191753] pcm512x 1-004d: Failed to get supply 'AVDD': -517[/code]

It will appear like this in your post:
Code: [Select]
[   36.176529] pcm512x 1-004d: Failed to get supply 'AVDD': -517
[   36.176536] pcm512x 1-004d: Failed to get supplies: -517
[   36.191753] pcm512x 1-004d: Failed to get supply 'AVDD': -517

Code Tags  serve as visual markers between what you are trying to say and the information you are posting. They also preserve
spacing so column aligned data displays properly. Code tags also automatically add horizontal and or vertical scrollbars
to accommodate long lines and listings.

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11721
Re: How to display Chinese in xterm or aterm
« Reply #10 on: December 31, 2024, 11:36:06 AM »
Hi bobowsh
You can try adding the boot code:
Code: [Select]
vga=askand see if a list of video modes is displayed when you boot.

Or you can try one of the codes under "Linux video mode numbers"
found here:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/VESA_BIOS_Extensions#Linux_video_mode_numbers

Offline polikuo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 759
Re: How to display Chinese in xterm or aterm
« Reply #11 on: December 31, 2024, 08:20:58 PM »
You can install graphics-KERNEL.tcz and use a different X server.
Code: [Select]
tce-load -wi graphics-KERNEL Xorg-7.7
Sometimes you'll need drivers for your graphic card
Code: [Select]
tce-load -wi firmware-radeon
Adjust the commands above to suit your needs.