WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Adding FoxClone  (Read 388 times)

Offline jusjason

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Adding FoxClone
« on: September 08, 2024, 04:58:03 AM »
I am am a new dCore user and am trying to add foxclone to dCore-bionic64.
For testing sake I am working in a Qemu session created with
Code: [Select]
sudo qemu-system-x86_64 -m 2G -smp 4 -cdrom dCore-bionic64.iso -machine q35 I am doing this to find a working process that I will later use with a USB drive on actual hardware.
The steps I have tried are to download the .deb file from here to the /opt/debextra folder and then run
Code: [Select]
sce-import foxclone52_amd64.debThe sce-import does not seem to be finding the deb package quite the way I would expect. It seems like something is found and decompressed to terminal,  but errors out in the end that the package is not available. This would be partially correct, as the package is not available in the Ubuntu nor dCore repos, but judging by the long splurge of decompressed bin ( ? I guess ?) that is displayed on terminal when sce-import is run I suspect that it is finding the package in the /opt/debextra/ folder but not processing it as I would hope.
Additionally I did try to run
Code: [Select]
sudo deb2sce .... of the downloaded foxclone.deb package , but this was not successful and errors with - not a standard Ubuntu ,dCore or metapackage.
 Are there other steps needed to add this external deb package ?

Offline patrikg

  • Wiki Author
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 703
Re: Adding FoxClone
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2024, 05:45:24 AM »
Where's the disk in the qemu?

Offline jusjason

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Adding FoxClone
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2024, 06:32:40 AM »
Where's the disk in the qemu?

I am not using/creating any permanent storage in Qemu. I am creating a temp system to check and learn how to import the FoxClone  deb package. The VM will not be used nor required after I have solved the issue.

Importing other packages that can be found in the Ubuntu/dCore repos that require only the use of sce-import  has been successfully tested - so this is not part of the issue.
« Last Edit: September 08, 2024, 06:56:41 AM by jusjason »

Offline jusjason

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Adding FoxClone
« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2024, 06:54:03 AM »
Some more findings -
There seem to be 2 possible ways to using the deb2sce command
Code: [Select]
sudo deb2sce foxclone52_amd64.debor importing + loading + running
Code: [Select]
sce-import -o sce-deb2sce
sce-load sce-deb2sce
sce-deb2sce foxclone52_amd64.deb
using sudo deb2sce - the error returned is  foxclone is not a standard Ubuntu , dCore or mettapacakge - exiting
while using the other method results in invalid tar magic.
I have tested the deb file on an Ubuntu machine , and had no issue installing it there.


For clarity the steps so far :
Create temp machine with Qemu from a freshly downloaed iso
Code: [Select]
sudo qemu-system-x86_64 -m 2G -smp 4 -cdrom dCore-bionic64.iso -machine q35
once running - in dCore
import + load ca-certificates
Code: [Select]
sce-import -n ca-certificates && sce-load ca-certificates
fetch the deb package
Code: [Select]
wget https://foxclone.org/downloads/foxclone52_amd64.deb
Try conversion
Code: [Select]
sudo deb2sce foxclone52_amd64.deb
or
Code: [Select]
  sce-import -o sce-deb2sce
  sce-load sce-deb2sce
  sce-deb2sce foxclone52_amd64.deb



Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11546
Re: Adding FoxClone
« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2024, 10:09:49 AM »
Hi jusjason
Welcome to the forum.

I did a little searching in the forum and found a post with
an error like yours from about 9 years ago:
https://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,18321.msg111752.html#msg111752

Offline jusjason

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Adding FoxClone
« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2024, 12:21:40 PM »
Thank you @Rich for the reply
I have tried two ideas that I think have grasped from that thread - compatibly issue between versions - 

dCore-bionic64.iso + sudo deb2sce ....
https://foxclone.org/downloads/foxclone.deb
https://foxclone.org/downloads/foxclone34_amd64.deb
https://foxclone.org/downloads/foxclone38_amd64.deb
https://foxclone.org/downloads/foxclone40_amd64.deb
https://foxclone.org/downloads/foxclone45_amd64.deb
https://foxclone.org/downloads/foxclone50_amd64.deb
https://foxclone.org/downloads/foxclone52_amd64.deb
All were unable to be converted with the error that this is not a standard Ubuntu , dCore or mettapacakge

 and -

Although I have no experience with creating or adding a deb package to a repo, this was my guess after following the README
Add the download link as an extra repo in /opt/debextra

Code: [Select]
echo "https://foxclone.org/downloads/" > /opt/debextra/foxclone then try import
Code: [Select]
sce-import foxclone
This returns " The following repository is not availibe : https://foxclone.org/downloads/"

What would be the correct way to add this as an extra repo ? Am I on the right path ?
« Last Edit: September 08, 2024, 12:53:14 PM by jusjason »

Offline jusjason

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Adding FoxClone
« Reply #6 on: September 08, 2024, 01:12:33 PM »
It was version issues after all.

dCore-bionic64.iso + https://foxclone.org/downloads/foxclone45_amd64.deb


is converted without error, newer versions fail

Good progress !

Tying to run the package results in dependency issues - I would expect that, but this is new waters for me - Is there a way to get a list of missing required dependencies to install ?


Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11546
Re: Adding FoxClone
« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2024, 01:51:10 PM »
Hi jusjason
Some more findings -
There seem to be 2 possible ways to using the deb2sce command
Code: [Select]
sudo deb2sce foxclone52_amd64.debor importing + loading + running
Code: [Select]
sce-import -o sce-deb2sce
sce-load sce-deb2sce
sce-deb2sce foxclone52_amd64.deb
using sudo deb2sce - the error returned is  foxclone is not a standard Ubuntu , dCore or mettapacakge - exiting
while using the other method results in invalid tar magic. ...
I think I found something.

I downloaded the foxclone52 deb and took a look inside.
In the past when I've done this I found .deb archives contained:
control.tar.gz  and data.tar.gz.

The foxclone52 archive contained:
control.tar.zst  and data.tar.zst.
It's  zstd  compression instead of gzip. The  tar  command
being used is probably the busybox version which can't
handle zstd. That's likely the source of the  invalid tar magic.

It's also possible that may be the source of the  not a standard
Ubuntu , dCore or mettapacakge  error.

I think you need to install  tar  and  zstd.
« Last Edit: September 08, 2024, 01:53:30 PM by Rich »

Offline jusjason

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Adding FoxClone
« Reply #8 on: September 08, 2024, 03:33:42 PM »
I had a look in the control file contained in the deb package and found a list of dependencies which I installed . I did not get a full start, as I am running only dCore ( no GUI) an foxclone is a GUI based tool, but  I think that I now have a working method for installing the package so I can move onto a full setup on USB.. This is still a bit of a clunky process , the dependency list is quite tedious. I appreciate even more the value of scripts like deb2sce now.
Code: [Select]
Depends: policykit-1,mount,grep,parted,partclone,coreutils,util-linux,diffutils,psmisc,os-prober,pigz,qpdfview,hdparm,nvme-cli,util-linux

Thanks @Rich for the tips and pointers

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11546
Re: Adding FoxClone
« Reply #9 on: September 08, 2024, 07:29:26 PM »
Hi jusjason
You are quite welcome. Keep us apprised on your progress.