WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: How do I configure wpa_supplicant.conf? [solved]  (Read 3886 times)

Offline xpto09

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
How do I configure wpa_supplicant.conf? [solved]
« on: August 08, 2009, 01:49:25 PM »
The  command iwlist scanning shows:

wlan0     Scan completed :
          
          Cell 01 - Address: 00:1B:11:E5:08:5B
                    ESSID:"home"
                    Mode:Master
                    Channel:1
                    Frequency:2.412 GHz (Channel 1)
                    Quality=73/100  Signal level:-60 dBm  Noise level=-69 dBm
                    Encryption key:on
                    IE: Unknown: 000472706972
                    IE: Unknown: 010882848B960C183048
                    IE: Unknown: 030101
                    IE: Unknown: 2A0100
                    IE: Unknown: 32041224606C
                    IE: IEEE 802.11i/WPA2 Version 1
                        Group Cipher : CCMP
                        Pairwise Ciphers (1) : CCMP
                        Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
                       Preauthentication Supported
                    IE: Unknown: DD0900037F01010006FF7F
                    IE: Unknown: DD0C00037F020101000002A34000
                    Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s
                              12 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s
                              48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
                    Extra:tsf=0000000251ce1181
                    Extra: Last beacon: 553ms ago
What do I have to put in "?" ?

wpa_supplicant.conf:

ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant

network={
ssid=home
proto="?"
key_mgmt="?"
pairwise="?"
group="?"
psk=999999999999999999999999999999999999999
}
« Last Edit: August 09, 2009, 10:39:20 AM by xpto09 »

Offline ^thehatsrule^

  • Retired Admins
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1726
Re: How do I configure wpa_supplicant.conf?
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2009, 02:10:43 PM »
Could check the upstream site, under "configuration file": http://hostap.epitest.fi/wpa_supplicant/

Offline xpto09

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: How do I configure wpa_supplicant.conf?
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2009, 10:32:24 AM »
My error was that I did not create the directoy wpa_supplicant.
To solve this:

Quote
mkdir /var/run/wpa_supplicant

wpa_supplicant.conf:

Quote
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
network={
ssid="my_network"
scan_ssid=1
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
psk=9caedfa3bec0c8c02420c1f5a15f9fbbafd996b9b61ac59e03a1c7f6a12453f6
}