WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: [Solved] Sound on ThinkPad T440p  (Read 7221 times)

Online Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11305
Re: [Solved] Sound on ThinkPad T440p
« Reply #15 on: June 07, 2023, 12:01:35 AM »
Hi MikeLockmoore
... Can I edit the title of the thread to show SOLVED?  I don't see a way to edit that (so far).
No, you can't. After 30 minutes you can no longer edit your posts.

aus9

  • Guest
Re: [Solved] Sound on ThinkPad T440p
« Reply #16 on: June 07, 2023, 02:34:23 AM »
Hi MikeLockmoore
I am still not happy....lets change again.

Code: [Select]
modprobe: can't unload module 'snd': Resource temporarily unavailable
it can be messy to remove modules that may have dependencies etc etc while live. snd is supposed to be the final module.
No matter. I noticed you have not download alsa-plugins, since you have sound we can ignore it

Change 1. I would like you to now have in your boot list- order not important due to change2
alsa-config.tcz
pavucontrol.tcz
thinkpad-acpi-6.1.2-tinycore64.tcz

change2 I would like you to have a blacklist boot code, not sure which your boot loader you are using but for grub you would edit the linux line to add
Quote
blacklist=snd_hda_intel,thinkpad_acpi

Better still create 2 menus one with blacklist and one without as I am not sure we can work it all out in one post.

Test-condition
full reboot and
Code: [Select]
lsmod | grep snd
lsmod | grep thinkpad
should give no hits. We can not continue unless this Test-condition is fully met. Because the main dep of snd is snd_hda-intel, I agree its not the only one, but we do not need to blacklist snd

change3 now we attempt to load modules, without any remove modules commands as they not there.
Code: [Select]
sudo su
modprobe snd_hda_intel options enable=0,1 index=0
modprobe thinkpad_acpi options index=1

I do not think we can do anything about snd at this stage. Notice I added options to thinkpad

Code: [Select]
aplay -lDo we still have card0 and your sound works ok after pavucontrol stuff?




« Last Edit: June 07, 2023, 02:37:49 AM by aus9 »

aus9

  • Guest
Re: [Solved] Sound on ThinkPad T440p
« Reply #17 on: June 07, 2023, 04:31:12 AM »
leaping assume your sound is good with the changes. You can then add - to your bootlocal.sh
modprobe snd_hda_intel options enable=0,1 index=0
modprobe thinkpad_acpi options index=1

full reboot and it should work, fingers crossed

Offline MikeLockmoore

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 525
  • Good software needn't be big!
Re: [Solved] Sound on ThinkPad T440p
« Reply #18 on: June 08, 2023, 07:00:09 PM »
Code: [Select]
lsmod | grep snd
lsmod | grep thinkpad

should give no hits.

Confirmed.

change3 now we attempt to load modules, without any remove modules commands as they not there.
Code: [Select]
sudo su
modprobe snd_hda_intel options enable=0,1 index=0
modprobe thinkpad_acpi options index=1

The first modprobe worked without error
The second modprobe has an error like I saw before:
Code: [Select]
root@box:/home/tc# modprobe thinkpad_acpi options index=1
modprobe: can't load module thinkpad_acpi (kernel.tclocal/drivers/platform/x86/thinkpad_acpi.ko.gz): unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter

aplay -l provides:
Code: [Select]
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC3232 Analog [ALC3232 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

Another issue I have is I don't see a GRUB menu.  I created an extlinux.conf file with a few options and an 8 second timeout, but it immediately goes to my default.  Any ideas on this?  The last entry is a carry over from the 32-bit install I started with.

extlinux.conf:
Code: [Select]
DEFAULT TC64
PROMPT 0
TIMEOUT=8
ONTIMEOUT TC64

LABEL TC64
MENU LABEL TinyCorePure64
TEXT HELP
Boot TinyCorePure64 with Embedded X/GUI extensions
ENDTEXT
KERNEL /tce64/boot/vmlinuz64
INITRD /tce64/boot/corepure64.gz
#APPEND tce=sda1/tce64 loglevel=3 cde vga=791
APPEND tce=sda1/tce64 loglevel=3 cde vga=795 blacklist=snd_hda_intel,thinkpad_acpi

LABEL TC64orig
MENU LABEL TinyCorePure64 (no blacklist)
TEXT HELP
Boot TinyCorePure64 with Embedded X/GUI extensions
ENDTEXT
KERNEL /tce64/boot/vmlinuz64
INITRD /tce64/boot/corepure64.gz
APPEND tce=sda1/tce64 loglevel=3 cde vga=795

LABEL core
MENU LABEL core (no GUI)
KERNEL /tce/boot/vmlinuz
INITRD /tce/boot/core.gz
APPEND quiet  tce=sda1 waitusb=5:UUID="9bf23678-b856-45dd-a61b-0872ddc035fb" tce=UUID="9bf23678-b856-45dd-a61b-0872ddc035fb"


Many thanks again.

Online Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11305
Re: [Solved] Sound on ThinkPad T440p
« Reply #19 on: June 08, 2023, 08:34:32 PM »
Hi MikeLockmoore
...
Code: [Select]
root@box:/home/tc# modprobe thinkpad_acpi options index=1
modprobe: can't load module thinkpad_acpi (kernel.tclocal/drivers/platform/x86/thinkpad_acpi.ko.gz): unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter
...
First let's try to figure out if it's an unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter.
Do this:
Code: [Select]
sudo modprobe thinkpad options index=1
dmesg | tail
and see if the dmesg output provides more details.

Quote
... I created an extlinux.conf file with a few options and an 8 second timeout, but it immediately goes to my default.  Any ideas on this? ...
Try setting  PROMPT  to 1. I think  TIMEOUT  is in tenths of a second.
See:
https://wiki.syslinux.org/wiki/index.php?title=SYSLINUX#PROMPT_flag_val
and:
https://wiki.syslinux.org/wiki/index.php?title=SYSLINUX#TIMEOUT_timeout


Online Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11305
Re: [Solved] Sound on ThinkPad T440p
« Reply #20 on: June 08, 2023, 11:26:41 PM »
Hi MikeLockmoore
unknown symbol in module  can mean a missing dependency.
To see if  thinkpad_acpi  has any dependencies:
Code: [Select]
modinfo thinkpad_acpi | grep depends
If it does, check the loaded modules to see if any of those dependencies missing:
Code: [Select]
lsmod

Offline MikeLockmoore

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 525
  • Good software needn't be big!
Re: [Solved] Sound on ThinkPad T440p
« Reply #21 on: June 09, 2023, 10:34:57 PM »
Hi MikeLockmoore
...
First let's try to figure out if it's an unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter.
Do this:
Code: [Select]
sudo modprobe thinkpad options index=1
dmesg | tail
and see if the dmesg output provides more details.
...

To see if  thinkpad_acpi  has any dependencies:
Code: [Select]
modinfo thinkpad_acpi | grep depends
If it does, check the loaded modules to see if any of those dependencies missing:
Code: [Select]
lsmod


OK.... I pasted the console log together here:

Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ sudo modprobe thinkpad_acpi options index=1
modprobe: can't load module thinkpad_acpi (kernel.tclocal/drivers/platform/x86/thinkpad_acpi.ko.gz): unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter
tc@box:~$ lsmod | grep thinkpad
tc@box:~$ dmesg | tail
...
wlan0: Limiting TX power to 30 (30 - 0) dBm as advertised by f8:bb:bf:24:44:28
thinkpad_acpi: Unknown symbol drm_privacy_screen_unregister (err -2)
thinkpad_acpi: Unknown symbol drm_privacy_screen_call_notifier_chain (err -2)
thinkpad_acpi: Unknown symbol drm_privacy_screen_register (err -2)
tc@box:~$ modinfo thinkpad_acpi | grep depends
depends:        platform_profile,drm,battery,snd,backlight,video
tc@box:~$ lsmod | grep platform_profile
platform_profile       12288  0
tc@box:~$ lsmod | grep drm
tc@box:~$ lsmod | grep battery
battery                16384  0
tc@box:~$ lsmod | grep snd
snd                    49152  0
soundcore              12288  1 snd
tc@box:~$ lsmod | grep backlight
backlight              12288  1 video
tc@box:~$ lsmod | grep video
video                  45056  0
backlight             12288  1 video
wmi                    16384  3 think_lmi,wmi_bmof,video

Seems like drm is the culprit!

I'll try the GRUB menu suggestions too!  Thanks, Rich.

Online Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11305
Re: [Solved] Sound on ThinkPad T440p
« Reply #22 on: June 10, 2023, 09:10:41 AM »
Hi MikeLockmoore
... Seems like drm is the culprit! ...
Use the  Apps  utility to  Download Only  graphics-KERNEL.tcz.
Then add it to the beginning of  onboot.lst.
Reboot and see if the error is gone.

Offline MikeLockmoore

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 525
  • Good software needn't be big!
Re: [Solved] Sound on ThinkPad T440p
« Reply #23 on: June 10, 2023, 11:07:08 PM »
...
Use the  Apps  utility to  Download Only  graphics-KERNEL.tcz.
Then add it to the beginning of  onboot.lst.
Reboot and see if the error is gone.

Yes, I assume you mean graphics-6.1.2-tinycore64.tcz.  I downloaded and put it first in my onboot.lst.  I am now able to modprobe thinkpad_acpi without error.  I put back all of the earlier modprobe commands in my bootlocal.sh and I am able to get sound automatically after reboot!  Thanks again, Rich and aus9!

A side effect of graphics-6.1.2-tinycore64.tcz is now my desktop boots into native resolution of 1920x1080 which provides a nice square aspect ratio for my text and graphics, but everything is fairly small in the native FLTK apps and terminal window.  Some apps like Firefox have font scaling features, but I'd really like to get bigger text in my terminal for my less-than-young eyes.  Is there a way to control it, or do I need a different terminal app if I want to keep the native resolution and run with larger fonts? 

Another option I suppose is running at lower resolution.  The current boot codes with "vga=795" I think are getting ignored:

Code: [Select]
Unknown kernel command line parameters "cde BOOT_IMAGE=/tce64/boot/vmlinuz64 tce=sda1/tce64 vga=795 blacklist=snd_hda_intel,thinkpad_acpi", will be passed to user space.
I don't have an Xvesa option enabled in my control panel app (it is grayed out).  Maybe I need to run the Xorg system like I did in the past on other machines to have more control?

Another question I have is how to disable the trackpad or reduce its sensitivity... it is very easy to accidentally reposition the mouse pointer when I'm typing by brushing part of my hands on the trackpad.  Maybe better if I start a new thread for this?

Online Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11305
Re: [Solved] Sound on ThinkPad T440p
« Reply #24 on: June 10, 2023, 11:40:11 PM »
Hi MikeLockmoore
... I don't have an Xvesa option enabled in my control panel app (it is grayed out). ...
Xvesa is only an option for x86 (32 bit).

Quote
... Another question I have is how to disable the trackpad or reduce its sensitivity... it is very easy to accidentally reposition the mouse pointer when I'm typing by brushing part of my hands on the trackpad. ...
That's one of my pet peeves too. I use the attached script to disable
my touchpad. I keep the script in ~/.local/bin. I have a file called  touchpad
in  ~/.X.d/  which contains the line:
Code: [Select]
Touchpad.sh OffThat command gets executed after  X  starts.

You just need to setup 2 variables,  TouchpadName  and  PropertyName.
Read the comments in the script to find out how to obtain their values.

aus9

  • Guest
Re: [Solved] Sound on ThinkPad T440p
« Reply #25 on: June 11, 2023, 01:31:07 AM »
Quote
like to get bigger text in my terminal for my less-than-young eyes

me too. If you like small terms like aterm....some window managers allow keyboard shortcuts like jwm, icemwm that will allow to bind a key so
whatever you choice for keyboard combos it launches aterm with a larger font. There is another post on how to set that in your ~/.Xdefaults like this one
http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,23056.msg151316.html#msg151316

in jwm I use
Quote
<Key mask="A" key="2">exec:aterm -fn 12x24</Key>
where A=Alt(ernate) key
EDIT if anyone knows what the windows logo key is called in jwm please let me know please

in icewm I use
Quote
key "Super+2" aterm -fn 12x24
where Super=mod4=Windows logo key called other names as well
« Last Edit: June 11, 2023, 01:38:32 AM by aus9 »

aus9

  • Guest
Re: [Solved] Sound on ThinkPad T440p
« Reply #26 on: June 11, 2023, 01:35:08 AM »
If you like to try a bigger term like lxterminal running on  gtk3, once you have confirmed it loads ok, remove aterm from your boot list.Reboot.
Using Apps and downloading a new TCE will start xterm, and thanks to Bela Markus lxterminal will open and show your preferred fonts and size.
To those people like me, who should wear goggles more often, size does matter  :)

Offline MikeLockmoore

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 525
  • Good software needn't be big!
Re: [Solved] Sound on ThinkPad T440p
« Reply #27 on: June 11, 2023, 06:42:52 PM »
...  I have a file called  touchpad in  ~/.X.d/  which contains the line:
Code: [Select]
Touchpad.sh OffThat command gets executed after  X  starts.

You just need to setup 2 variables,  TouchpadName  and  PropertyName.
Read the comments in the script to find out how to obtain their values.

Rich: The Touchpad.sh script uses the command xinput, which I don't seem to have and don't find in the repo of extensions.  Is it part of some non-obvious extension? Is it 32-bit and not 64?  Thanks if you can help me sort it out.

Offline MikeLockmoore

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 525
  • Good software needn't be big!
Re: [Solved] Sound on ThinkPad T440p
« Reply #28 on: June 11, 2023, 06:54:33 PM »
in icewm I use
Quote
key "Super+2" aterm -fn 12x24
where Super=mod4=Windows logo key called other names as well

I'm only using FLWM right now... but that -fn option for aterm is very promising... HOWEVER, when I try to edit the .wbar config file and .wmx/Applications/Terminal script to have "aterm -fn 10x20"... it is getting overwritten when I reboot... even though I took .wmx out of the .xfiletool.lst file and even putting .wbar and .wmx into filetool.lst (though I don't think that should be necessary, if the files were not clobbered on every boot).

So it seems FLWM is re-writting .wmx stuff and .wbar stuff each boot.  Is there a way to avoid this, or change the template so "aterm" becomes "aterm -fn 10x20" each boot? 

If you like to try a bigger term like lxterminal running on  gtk3 ...

I considered using the lxterminal or gnome-terminal, but each of these has a dependency list that seems as long as my arm.  :o  I'm trying to keep the system fairly light, but, that said, I am using Firefox, so maybe most of the dependencies for one or the other is already mostly included.

Thanks, as always!


Online Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11305
Re: [Solved] Sound on ThinkPad T440p
« Reply #29 on: June 11, 2023, 08:13:32 PM »
Hi MikeLockmoore
xinput  is part of  Xorg-7.7-bin.tcz.  It is available in both 32 and 64 bit.