WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Start graphical desktop from console  (Read 2841 times)

Offline JJDS

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Start graphical desktop from console
« on: July 29, 2016, 06:41:26 AM »
I'm trying to start TC from a USB on a TOSHIBA SATELLITE 4070CDS 1998.
I've tried with TC and CorePlus, choosing different options. But it always goes to the console. Any option I choose takes me to the text mode

┬┐How can I start the graphical desktop?

"Setting Language to C Done." Appears for about 5-10 minutes before it continues charging the OS. Is this normal?

Online curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10992
Re: Start graphical desktop from console
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2016, 06:48:33 AM »
Is that USB 1.0? It's very slow, so such boot times could result.

It might also have to do with the graphics card. Do you have extensions mounted (showing in yellow during boot), and a "failed in waitforX" message?

edit: In general, such old computers don't have good compatibility with booting from USB, installing to the HD would be advisable.
« Last Edit: July 29, 2016, 06:50:49 AM by curaga »
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline JJDS

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Start graphical desktop from console
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2016, 07:12:49 AM »
I think is USB 1.1, but I'm not sure.
Yesterday It started (After near one hour) Puppy Linux, but It was unusable.

I can't see any extension being mounted during boot. Neither the "failed in waitforX" message

I need to boot from the USB because I need to recover some data in the HDD.

Online curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10992
Re: Start graphical desktop from console
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2016, 03:18:01 PM »
With such slow usb, it would be better to buy a laptop ide to usb adapter, remove the HD, and access it on a newer computer.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline thane

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 691
Re: Start graphical desktop from console
« Reply #4 on: July 30, 2016, 02:53:41 AM »
FWIW (maybe nothing) I first ran TC on a Compaq Deskpro III c. 2000, but booted from CD (didn't have USB boot), only saving/restoring from USB (which was 1.x).

Offline JJDS

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Start graphical desktop from console
« Reply #5 on: August 01, 2016, 02:05:07 PM »
Tried from a CD instead USB.

Now, sometimes, it mounts extensions. But it still does not start the graphical environment.