WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: TCL static ip network setup  (Read 15848 times)

Capum150

  • Guest
TCL static ip network setup
« on: May 17, 2016, 08:49:00 AM »
*I had posted this on wrong section for unknown reason.

Hello!

Could you troubleshoot why I can't apply static ip address to setup this guest vbox (VirtualBox-5.0.20-106931-Win) network with TinyCore x86 7.0 on a Windows 7 Pro Host. The cpanel network configuration aren't applied anyway. My router network DHCP is disabled indeed. Other system guest used were setup this way and worked. Please advise if I left out any important information.

Thanks and waiting for reply.

Offline Misalf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1702
Re: TCL static ip network setup
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2016, 09:12:20 AM »
Quote
The cpanel network configuration aren't applied anyway.

Not sure about network inside a VM but maybe you can try manually like this:
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh
pkill udhcpc
ifconfig eth0 192.168.0.2 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.0.255 up
route add default gw 192.168.0.1

echo "nameserver 192.168.0.1" | sudo tee /etc/resolv.conf
192.168.0.2 would be your clients IP and 192.168.0.1 the router.
Download a copy and keep it handy: Core book ;)

Capum150

  • Guest
Re: TCL static ip network setup
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2016, 10:35:40 AM »
I was missleading because mask and name servers do get applied the other fields doesn't. Also I didn't specified that Internet access is off in this environment, but you should already know.
Vbox was choosen NAT. This manual you say is for Bridged configurations?

Offline Misalf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1702
Re: TCL static ip network setup
« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2016, 11:27:29 AM »
Quote
This manual you say is for Bridged configurations?
Internal networking I'd guess. Sorry, that was just a shot in the dark. It's what I use to connect to my LAN and, IIRC, is similar to what was needed for basic folder sharing between VM and host.

Maybe you just need to use another interface.
Run
Code: [Select]
ls /sys/class/net
to check for available interfaces.

Other than that, I won't be able to provide much help, I'm afraid.
Download a copy and keep it handy: Core book ;)

Offline Misalf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1702
Re: TCL static ip network setup
« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2016, 11:30:56 AM »
Oh, did you install  virtualbox-ose-additions.tcz ?
Download a copy and keep it handy: Core book ;)

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: TCL static ip network setup
« Reply #5 on: May 17, 2016, 04:52:04 PM »
If you insist on using NAT instead of bridged, tinycore should use dhcp as VBox has its own internal dhcp server for its NAT connections.

Capum150

  • Guest
Re: TCL static ip network setup
« Reply #6 on: May 17, 2016, 06:45:37 PM »
ls /sys/class/net returns
dummy0 eth0 ip_vti0 lo tunl0

how could I install virtualbox-ose-additions.tcz ? no internet access on guest! maybe I could get the package to install offline? that would be another ultimate round, isn't it?

good to know about VBox DHCP server, so what am I missing? Tried Bridged mode, no deal. I see the entry in adsl interface as active, for a while, but guest TCL doesn't accomplish the listing of App Browser or ping ISP gateway return no packet, 100% loss.