WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: I would like to have a go at compiling from source but don't know where to start  (Read 6613 times)

Offline Juanito

• Administrator
Also, what does the 'strip' stuff do? (I don't have a background in development, in fact, I'm a chartered accountant).
When a lot (all?) of applications are compiled, debugging symbols are included to help developers find problems - the strip command removes these debugging symbols to make the compiled files smaller.

Offline robc

What do I do now?
You can submit it to tcesubmit to be put in the TC repository  :)

create info, md5sum, and dep files as required
put the extensions, infos, deps, md5sums and source in a directory (ie ~/zile/) and bcrypt it. use commands like these
Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ tar czvf zile.tar.gz zile
tc@box:~$ bcrypt zile.tar.gz
use "tinycore" as the password and send it into tcesubmit
"Never give up! Never surrender!" - Commander Peter Quincy Taggart

"Make it so." - Captain Picard

Offline PingPing

How do I find out its deps?

Offline robc

some applications tell you what they depend on in their website or in the README or INSTALL files found in the source. you can also look up the package in debian and see what they have listed as dependencies to start.
once you have a list to start from, reboot TC with the base norestore boot options and load the list of dependencies that you have gathered so far. start the application from the aterm window...there may be errors but usually the error will tell you what is missing then load the extensions that are required and test again.
Once you get the application to start you can test some of the functionality. if there is still a problem with a missing dependency then it should show in the aterm window.
"Never give up! Never surrender!" - Commander Peter Quincy Taggart

"Make it so." - Captain Picard

Offline Juanito

• Administrator