WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: A little history and Modificating TCVD/TCZTCE on FAT32/EXT3 USB-improvements.  (Read 3268 times)

Offline linus72

• Damn it Jim!
Ok, so I've been playing with TC for about a month...and have wandered around asking questions and trying
to modificate things-not making anything new-just modificating.

So, a little background; I've been playing with Linux since late December 2008(6months ago) when I inadvertently told Unetbootin to install some distro, I don't even remember, to my USB blantantly/stupidly
not understanding what I was doing and ended up installing syslinux to my WinXP hd!

I have 3 years experience with computers in general, all with XP on the same PC.

At reboot I got a back screen with a blinking cursor!!
I rebooted 3 more times before freaking out....
Ok, I had a Ubuntu-8.04 livecd I got thru the mail as I had dial-up then.
I had only used it twice and couldn't get it to connect via dial-up and the "language" of Linux
in general seemed alien. "mount?"

Anyway, I didn't have a XP recovery disc, and didn't know about how to save it.
I retrieved my files from the HD with USB, installed Ubuntu-SE-8.04 'cause of the Bathory wallpaper and it's more compact installed apps.

I joined the Linuxquestions.org forums and started asking dumb questions like my first post
" help!
ok-newbie question---installed slack disk 1 only/booted up and stopped at b(me) login/ i entered name+password
came up with # cursor
typed startx
nothing what do i do??"

Duh? No snit.

Long story short, I have learned much since then.

Now, I started smashing distro's together and started learning how to modificate Linux while jammin
Metallica and Slayer,etc

Isolinux, syslinux, extlinux, cd's usb's, hundreds of distro's-floppies, hd installs,etc.

whew, I have like 100 cd's and 8+ partitions on my two workhorses; a HP Pavillion a810n AMD Athlon64