WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: What sort of users does TC have?  (Read 2182 times)

Offline ghar

What sort of users does TC have?
« on: February 12, 2014, 06:15:17 AM »
Hi,
I am a newbie here. I was wondering, what sort of users does TinyCore have? I mean, are they mostly advanced users who like experimenting with new features and are deeply into tinkering by themselves, or are there also users who merely use what is available?
I am asking this because in case a lot of tinkering is required at the end-user level merely to make things work, then TC is not for me. If, on the other hand, the stuff that is already available 'just works' (once it has been properly set up), then I am planning to settle for TC as my main Linux distro, because of its simplicity.
Please share your comments on the type of users in this community, and about the actual types of use for TC.
Thanks

ghar

Offline tinypoodle

"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline thane

Re: What sort of users does TC have?
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2014, 03:16:48 PM »
Tiny Core's main strength is its extreme customizability -- you don't have to download applications you don't need. That said, you will have to invest some time in learning which apps you DO need. I started using TC after being on Windows for several years, and rather belatedly realizing that 90% of my personal computing was web surfing, with some e-mail etc., so why was I on a $1500 box loaded with apps that I never used? When I tried TC I thought I could get by with just a web browser (e.g. Chrome or Firefox). Turned out I also needed Flash (e.g. for viewing YouTube), sound (OSS or Alsa), a PDF document viewer (I like to read really old archived books sometimes), and a few others. If you're coming from a (say) Windows environment and haven't had to install apps from scratch, it may not be immediately apparent what does what.