WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Coreplus in Qemu  (Read 4045 times)

Offline georgp24

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Coreplus in Qemu
« on: October 02, 2013, 03:00:59 PM »
I run Coreplus-4.7.6.iso in Qemu for Windows. To save downloaded extensions I use a shared folder which TC sees as SDA1 and where the App Browser made a tce directory.

Now I downloaded compiletc.tcz and gcc.tcz. After I downloaded these I can open the terminal window and enter gcc and it will complain for an input file. But when I boot TC again, it says "gcc not found". When I select Load App locally it will list gcc_base-dev.tcz but not gcc.tcz. When I load gcc_base-dev.tcz it still finds no gcc in the terminal window.

How can I select several extensions at once in App Browser and load them in one go?

When I boot, after loading the extensions I get the error message: "chmod etc/sysconfig/tcedir/xwbar.lst: Operation not permitted". What does that tell me?

Two additional questions: what file manager should I download? I am familiar with Dolphin but not with any listed under extensions - apart from MC which I try to avoid. Also is there an editor similar to Code::Blocks available that I can use for development?

Georg
« Last Edit: October 02, 2013, 05:43:43 PM by georgp24 »

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11502
Re: Coreplus in Qemu
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2013, 03:47:57 PM »
Hi
Quote
Now I downloaded compiletc.tcz and gcc.tcz.
You only need compiletc. Use AppsBrowser to install it and it will pull in gcc and other utilities so you have a proper tool chain.
Quote
Also is there an editor similar to Code::Blocks available that I can use for development?
You mean like  codeblocks.tcz? Or  codelite.tcz? Or  geany.tcz?

Offline georgp24

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Coreplus in Qemu
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2013, 05:03:05 PM »
Yes, I now found Codeblocks, thank you. I had looked at http://tinycorelinux.net/5.x/x86/tcz/ and that did not contain that entry.

If anybody could please comment on my other questions I would appreciate that as well.


Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: Coreplus in Qemu
« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2013, 08:28:55 PM »
In case you don't mind gtk+ I'd suggest trying out rox-filer as FM.

On a sidenote: Please post questions about running Core on virtual machines in specific subforum.
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
Re: Coreplus in Qemu
« Reply #4 on: October 03, 2013, 12:21:19 AM »

How can I select several extensions at once in App Browser and load them in one go?
afaik not possible to select more than one extension using Apps, however you can make a script  to load them simultaneously using "tce-load -i xxxx.tcz".

example of an almost limitless list:
Code: [Select]
list="compiletc.tcz gtk3-dev.tcz gawk.tcz glibc_base-dev.tcz squashfs-tools-4.x.tcz"

for i in `echo $list`; do
pkgname=`basename "$i" .tcz`
    tce-load -i "$pkgname"
done


see OSS build script for more detailed bullet proof example,   with option to download extensions if not already downloaded.
« Last Edit: October 03, 2013, 12:40:12 AM by coreplayer2 »

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: Coreplus in Qemu
« Reply #5 on: October 03, 2013, 12:39:39 AM »

afaik not possible to select more than one extension using Apps, however you can make a script  to load them simultaneously using "tce-load -i xxxx.tcz".


Or just use

Code: [Select]
tce-load -i gtk3-dev glibc_base-dev squashfs-tools-4.x
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline georgp24

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Coreplus in Qemu
« Reply #6 on: October 03, 2013, 03:13:19 PM »
Thank you for your help. I still wonder what causes this error message :
"chmod etc/sysconfig/tcedir/xwbar.lst: Operation not permitted".
I get this during boot, after the extensions are loaded.

The sda1 disk in my Qemu session is a FAT disk. Can this cause the chmod error?

Finally I try to enter in the terminal window:
"loadkmap < /usr/share/kmap/qwertz/de-latin1.kmap"
This returns without error, but the keyboard stays US. What needs to be done here? I tried it as user tc and root, same result.


Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: Coreplus in Qemu
« Reply #7 on: October 03, 2013, 03:57:54 PM »
The sda1 disk in my Qemu session is a FAT disk. Can this cause the chmod error?

POSIX attributes are not natively supported by FAT at all.
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11502
Re: Coreplus in Qemu
« Reply #8 on: October 03, 2013, 11:32:06 PM »
Hi tinypoodle
Quote
On a sidenote: Please post questions about running Core on virtual machines in specific subforum.
This thread was originally under  Tiny Core Base. Even though it is titled  Coreplus in Qemu  I moved it here since
the subject matter seems to be questions about extensions.