WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: How to enable HIDRAW  (Read 12601 times)

Offline Martin Heller

How to enable HIDRAW
« on: February 22, 2013, 06:35:04 AM »
I am trying to install and calibrate an eGalax touch panel on the current tinycore with kernel  3.0.21-tinycore. As I am new to tinycore and touchscreens, this has been more difficult than first anticipated. The touch panel is "working", i.e. the pointer moves when touching the screen, but the calibration is off. I can influence the calibration with xinput and trial and error:

xinput set-prop --type=int --format=32  EETI "Evdev Axis Calibration" 535 3707 211 3461

but it is troublesome to get this right.

The driver from eGalax that I have downloaded the driver from eGalax website for kernel versions 2.6.36 and above has a calibration utility. However, this program cannot see the touch device. I think this is because it is looking for a hidraw* device which is not created when I attach the touch controller to the USB port.

The eGalax installation instructions starts by stating that I must enable the modules EVDEV, UINPUT and HIDRAW.

As far as I can tell, the hidraw module is not enabled in tinycore by default? Installing the tinycore headers and inspecting the .config file I get:

grep HIDRAW .config
# CONFIG_HIDRAW is not set

which I assume is what I must somehow change? I have tried to change the above line to

CONFIG_HIDRAW=y

and follow the instructions at from the "Creating a Custom Kernel" wiki page. Admittedly, this is not something I've tried before, and apparently, I am doing something wrong:

make oldconfig

results in "can't find file Kconfig" (sorry, I can't post the console output as I get an error from the forum saying "Sorry, you are not allowed to post external links").