WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: How do you run a script at startup  (Read 6121 times)

Offline nam

How do you run a script at startup
« on: January 15, 2013, 07:00:12 AM »
I've got a Tiny Core setup on a VMWare and plan on using it as a Selenium Node.
So far, I've installed JAVA, Chrome, Chromedriver, and Selenium on this machine.  I'm able to launch the the Selenium jar from the terminal and it all works fine.  To put the final finishing touch to this setup, I need to start the selenium jar on startup, but I'm having difficulty figuring it out.  The commands to start the selenium is like this:

java -jar /path/to/selenium/server/selenium-server-standalone-2.28.0.jar -role node -nodeConfig /path/to/selenium/config/cofigFile.json

I'm a newbie to linux and tiny core so I may need some hand holding.
So far, I've tried to put this exact line in a shell script (runSelenium.sh), but no matter where i put it, it is not executed.  Any suggestion would be great.
By the way, I'm not even sure if putting this line in a shell script is the best way to do this.

Thanks.

Offline spence91

Re: How do you run a script at startup
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2013, 07:13:46 AM »
Hi - there's a piece in the Wiki that tells you what you need to know:

http://wiki.tinycorelinux.net/wiki:bootlocal.sh_and_shutdown.sh

Offline bmarkus

• Administrator
    • My Community Forum
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2013, 07:16:14 AM »
Add it to /opt/bootlocal.sh It is executed as root at the end of boot process when extensions are already loaded. Use absolute path when files specified.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline nam

« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2013, 07:59:24 AM »
Thanks for the quick reply.  I've tried putting something like this in the bootlocal.sh:

/path/to/my/script.sh