WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: suggestion on Apps and repository---server status  (Read 4790 times)

aus9

  • Guest
suggestion on Apps and repository---server status
« on: March 22, 2013, 08:26:10 AM »
Hi

I may suffer impatience.

If the server is down for a while, can we see a thread created in say Site news forum to alert members the server has some issues and is a known quantity?

Of course right now, I am not sure if its my settings that are wrong or the server.

As I am +8 to UTC, I can often guess that the update script is run sometime in (my) morning and so can try again later.

But today, as an example,  I can not browse, so being selfish....if I saw a thread that there were known issues I could soothe my self with some light refreshment.

thanks for reading

2) I am now looking at my tce/optional
I assume they should be tc:staff and 664 or rw-rw-r--

in which case not all are, eg nss was 620

Does that make a difference?
« Last Edit: March 22, 2013, 08:37:54 AM by aus9 »

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10993
Re: suggestion on Apps and repository---server status
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2013, 11:51:07 AM »
The recent issues (today mainly) weren't planned - planned outages will of course be announced.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

aus9

  • Guest
Re: suggestion on Apps and repository---server status
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2013, 07:38:15 PM »
Hi

Then could we have a thread where for unplanned outages, replies are made saying today server has been down for (say) 4 hours

reply 2  date  server has been down (say) 4 hours

When I went on IRC, probably because I am in the "wrong" timezone, no good looking mod was available to tell me whether it was me or the server

Does that make it clearer?

When TC users try Apps, no reply is given if problems only a few hours but after some "agreed" amount of time, the forum post controlled by mods is replied to.

cheers

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11322
Re: suggestion on Apps and repository---server status
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2013, 07:58:59 PM »
Hi aus9
When I get a connection error from the Apps utility, I check the  Downloads  link at the top of this forums page. If I can't
connect to it, then the problem is the server. I've also noticed the  FAQ  and  Welcome  link usually fail when this
happens.

aus9

  • Guest
Re: suggestion on Apps and repository---server status
« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2013, 08:23:00 PM »
Rich and other good looking moderators

good to know, let me show one quirk

I seem to recall this tcz in the past requiring an update and I have solved it manually but show it here in case it gives mods a chance to trouble shoot?

nettle



had to solve it manually with

Code: [Select]
tce-load -w nettle
nettle is already downloaded.
tc@box:~$ cd optional/
tc@box:/mnt/sdb1/tce/optional$ ls nettle*
nettle.tcz  nettle.tcz.dep  nettle.tcz.md5.txt
tc@box:/mnt/sdb1/tce/optional$ rm -rf nettle*
tc@box:/mnt/sdb1/tce/optional$ tce-load -w nettle
Downloading: nettle.tcz
Connecting to repo.tinycorelinux.net (89.22.99.37:80)
nettle.tcz           100% |*******************************|   140k  0:00:00 ETA
nettle.tcz: OK
tc@box:/mnt/sdb1/tce/optional$ ls nettle*
nettle.tcz  nettle.tcz.dep  nettle.tcz.md5.txt
tc@box:/mnt/sdb1/tce/optional$ ls -al nettle*
-rw-r--r-- 1 tc staff 143360 Mar 23 08:07 nettle.tcz
-rw-r--r-- 1 tc staff      8 Mar 23 08:07 nettle.tcz.dep
-rw-r--r-- 1 tc staff     45 Mar 23 08:07 nettle.tcz.md5.txt
tc@box:/mnt/sdb1/tce/optional$ chmod 664 nettle*
tc@box:/mnt/sdb1/tce/optional$ ls -al nettle*
-rw-rw-r-- 1 tc staff 143360 Mar 23 08:07 nettle.tcz
-rw-rw-r-- 1 tc staff      8 Mar 23 08:07 nettle.tcz.dep
-rw-rw-r-- 1 tc staff     45 Mar 23 08:07 nettle.tcz.md5.txt

Please note my earlier remark about chmod permissions, so this is not an attack on nettle, because I fixed up all others and spacefm and gut* are mine.
Providing a list of what I fixed up IMO won't be helpful as I don't have all tczs downloaded but my history shows them to be

chmod 664 ffmpeg*
chmod 664 SpaceFM*
chmod 664 sqlite3*
chmod 664 nss*
chmod 664 neon*
chmod 664 ncursesw*
chmod 664 nspr*
chmod 664 libtas*
chmod 664 libavdev*
chmod 664 gutenprint-ijs*
chmod 664 nettle*

trivia
I have a sym link to optional in my home folder.

I may, in the past, only read the line...reboot and failed to read that the update failed.
It could happen to others?

cheers
« Last Edit: March 22, 2013, 09:15:57 PM by aus9 »

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
Re: suggestion on Apps and repository---server status
« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2013, 07:49:32 PM »
I hate being a me too, but updating nettle caused the same error for me.   The error is not limited to nettle though as I often receive this "Updating app.tcz Failed" message running Apps update feature.

 
A temporary fix is to rename the old 'nettle.tcz, nettle.tcz.dep and nettle.tcz.md5.txt file, then run fetch missing deps

perms on the existing nettle.tcz files were already set to 664,  same as indicated on the updated files


« Last Edit: March 23, 2013, 08:03:18 PM by coreplayer2 »

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: suggestion on Apps and repository---server status
« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2013, 08:00:17 PM »
Doubtful that file permissions could ever play any role in context of PPR which is fully vfat compatible, i.e. non existent file permissions.
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
Re: suggestion on Apps and repository---server status
« Reply #7 on: March 23, 2013, 08:15:09 PM »
I mentioned the perms to show that permissions apparently made no difference, in my case.

is it possible that this error occurs only when updating tcz's which are deps of another application ?
« Last Edit: March 23, 2013, 08:17:30 PM by coreplayer2 »