WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: What do I need for wireless?  (Read 3237 times)

Offline al3

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
What do I need for wireless?
« on: January 25, 2012, 08:15:11 PM »
I did a "regular" install of TC+ on an ancient IBM Thinkpag 600e. Works fine with Ethernet. I think I've located a wireless card that will work. Are there any extensions that I should download... like wireless.tcz (or something like that.) When I did the install I don't remember if I told it I wanted wireless drivers, etc. I want to install all the "stuff" before I take the lappy down to the surplus parts store and try out some Card Bus things (all cost about $15.)

Thanks.

Al

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: What do I need for wireless?
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2012, 08:20:56 PM »
If you want to try out cardbus NICs, Take a CorePlus DVD with you to the parts store.  It loads all the drivers.

Offline al3

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: What do I need for wireless?
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2012, 11:51:38 PM »
I downloaded wicd and other wireless stuff as "on boot." I went to the store and tried a ton of cards (used) and not one of them worked. I could not even get the Wifi Manager to show. It was in the menu bar but when clicked nothing happened.

I did not bring a CD of TC+ with me. I didin't think to do that. However, I brought a CD of Mepis Linux which has always worked on this old computer. However, it could not find any of the cards. Actually if found one but could not connect. I was never asked to join a network. After about 90 minutes and trying all sorts of drivers and cards with Mepis I gave up.

At least with Mepis I could see a green light on the card. Never saw that with TC.

I just don't think this old IBM 600e laptop can do wireless using Linux.

Thanks anyway.

Offline blue horse

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: What do I need for wireless?
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2012, 09:12:58 AM »
i once installed without wifi and wifi firmware support, tried to download tcz to patch it up, took me lots of time and did not work. 
the easiest thing is to reinstall with wifi and wifi firmware support.  2 minuts tops.

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
Re: What do I need for wireless?
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2012, 09:47:38 AM »
Take a coreplus usb or cd with you next time..

Offline al3

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: What do I need for wireless?
« Reply #5 on: January 28, 2012, 10:00:34 AM »
I will take the + CD with me next time I'm down that way. But my guess is that if the Mepis CD won't work, nothing will since I believe it has most of the drivers. Mepis's "network assistant' was able to find some of the cards I tried but could "start" them so as to detect the store's wi-fi signal. However the KDE Network Manager would not even show me a screen which I thought was interesting since Mepis is the one "full Linux" system that ha always worked on that old Thinkpad.

In TC+ I tried "services" and checked "wicd" and the green light stayed on for about 10 seconds and went off again. I'll try it with the CD next time.

I wonder if I have the latest version of TC+. How do you find out what version is installed or running on CD? (I used to know a lot of the Unix terminal commands but after moving to Mac OS X seven years ago from Linux I forgot most of them! uname -a works on the Mac.

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: What do I need for wireless?
« Reply #6 on: January 28, 2012, 10:04:37 AM »
version

Online Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11263
Re: What do I need for wireless?
« Reply #7 on: January 28, 2012, 10:26:19 AM »
Thanks for the tip gerald_clark, I always checked  /usr/share/doc/tc/release.txt.

Offline oldgit485

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: What do I need for wireless?
« Reply #8 on: January 31, 2012, 03:29:54 PM »
Hi
Have posted in the other thread also,I have been using wireless on a couple of 600e since version 2.8  originally using wicd,and wpa supplicant but when wicd broke for a while started using wifi extension and wpa supplicant  works well for
me
Best regards oldgit