WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Dual Monitor Backgrounds  (Read 6727 times)

Offline KHarvey

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
Dual Monitor Backgrounds
« on: December 24, 2011, 05:26:22 PM »
I have been running Tiny Core for a couple of months now, and I have had a working dual monitor setup.  But I want to know if there is a way for me to specify a background image for a specific monitor?

I have a couple of python scripts that cycle through my backgrounds, and they work pretty well in Tiny Core, except that the backgrounds are centered between the two monitors, which means I have a physical gap in the actual background.  Is there a way for me to specify which monitor the background shows up on?  Or is there a way for me to justify the background left or right?

In the past I used gconftool in Ubuntu, or xfconf in Solaris.  Currently I am using hsetroot -full in Tiny Core.

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11022
Re: Dual Monitor Backgrounds
« Reply #1 on: December 25, 2011, 09:02:27 AM »
Depends on how you set up the multihead; if automatic/xrandr/xinerama, you'd need an xrandr/xinerama-aware wm/bg-setter. I'm not sure if hsetroot has that capability.

If they are different screens/zaphod, it is quite easy to say:
DISPLAY=:0.0 hsetroot ....
DISPLAY=:0.1 hsetroot ....
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline KHarvey

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
Re: Dual Monitor Backgrounds
« Reply #2 on: December 25, 2011, 09:51:17 AM »
Thanks for the response curaga.

I am actually using the NVidia X Server settings with XOrg and have configured Twinview.

Looking at the settings inside the NVidia X Server it only shows that I have one Display Name of tc:0.0
So I was able to build a command:
DISPLAY=tc:0.0 hsetroot /mnt/sdb2/Wallpaper/Random.jpg
And it sets the wallpaper but it still splits it between the two monitors.  When I try using tc:0.1 I get a Segmentation Fault.  I think that maybe I built my dual monitors incorrectly?

By the way Merry Christmas  :D

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11022
Re: Dual Monitor Backgrounds
« Reply #3 on: December 25, 2011, 11:30:32 AM »
Twinview is xinerama-compatible IIRC.

hsetroot doesn't check its display argument, which seems somewhat common practise. Unrelated to your display setup.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline KHarvey

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
Re: Dual Monitor Backgrounds
« Reply #4 on: December 25, 2011, 01:06:08 PM »
Okay, so I have been playing with this for the last couple of hours, and I made a little progress I think.

So I turned off TwinView and changed to Separate X screen and enabled Xinerama.  I found as you stated that Xinerama and TwinView run pretty much the same.
So then I left it on Separate X Screen and turned off Xinerama, and now I am able to set the background and it shows up on both screens.  Meaning that I have to exact copies of the background, which is perfectly fine.  The problem that I have now, is since I am not using Xinerama or TwinView, I am unable to move any windows between the screens.  Even if I try to start an application (DISPLAY=:0.1 chromium-browser) it always starts on screen 0.0.  At least I am not getting the segmentation fault errors any more.  But as it stands now my second monitor is pretty much useless other than looking at my background.

Also I realized that no matter what setting I choose when I do an echo $DISPLAY it always only says 0.0

I did find that I can use Nitrogen to set the background on a screen, but I am only able to do that through the GUI.  I did not find a CLI option for Nitrogen to specify the monitor.

I didn't think this would be that complicated, but I guess I was mistaken.  I think that I am close, but I don't know what to do now.

Do you have any more suggestions, or maybe a website that I could go read through?

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11022
Re: Dual Monitor Backgrounds
« Reply #5 on: December 26, 2011, 05:10:32 AM »
Sorry, multi-screen on linux is a bit of a mess. It's by design that you can't move windows with separate screens.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline KHarvey

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
Re: Dual Monitor Backgrounds
« Reply #6 on: December 26, 2011, 03:34:37 PM »
Thank you for your help with this curaga.

Since I could not find a native way of doing this I decided that I would script a way of doing this.
I am using ImageMagick to do the conversions and build the backgrounds automatically.

This is done in Python, but if anyone is interested.
Code: [Select]
import os, random

objWallpaper = "/mnt/sdb2/Wallpaper/"
strWallpaper = os.listdir(objWallpaper)[random.randrange(1, len(os.listdir(objWallpaper)))]

os.system('convert "' + objWallpaper + strWallpaper + '" -resize "1680x1050" /tmp/WP1.png')
os.system('convert /opt/backgrounds/Black.png /tmp/WP1.png +append /tmp/WP.png')
os.system('hsetroot -full /tmp/WP.png')

So what I am doing is pulling a random image from a directory.  I then convert the image to a PNG as it has better color depth and resolution compared to a JPG, at least from my tests.  I also change the resolution of the picture to 1680x1050 which is the resolution of my monitors.  Now I am not hard changing the resolution, meaning that I am maintaining the original aspect ratio of the picture.
I then add Black.png to the left of my background image.  Now Black.png is a 1680x1050 pure black image that I created in GIMP. 
Now I could use my image twice, but I found that I have to continue to reset my WBAR for it to become transparent, I would also need to configure my conky a little better.  So I opted to just use a plain black background on my left monitor.  I will probably fix this later though.  I will probably also change the script a bit to where it pulls the resolution automatically from the OS rather than having it hard coded.

From there I just created a SH that executes my Python script, and created a 48x48 .img file and put them in /mnt/sda1/tce/ondemand and voila.  This gives me a button that I can change the background on randomly when I want, or I could configure using cron.  This seems to be working well with Xinerama.  I haven't tested it with TwinView but I am pretty sure it would work with that.

Hopefully this will help someone else.  If anyone needs more info on what I'm doing or how it works just let me know.