WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Dual Monitor Backgrounds  (Read 6727 times)

Offline KHarvey

Dual Monitor Backgrounds
« on: December 24, 2011, 05:26:22 PM »
I have been running Tiny Core for a couple of months now, and I have had a working dual monitor setup.  But I want to know if there is a way for me to specify a background image for a specific monitor?

I have a couple of python scripts that cycle through my backgrounds, and they work pretty well in Tiny Core, except that the backgrounds are centered between the two monitors, which means I have a physical gap in the actual background.  Is there a way for me to specify which monitor the background shows up on?  Or is there a way for me to justify the background left or right?

In the past I used gconftool in Ubuntu, or xfconf in Solaris.  Currently I am using hsetroot -full in Tiny Core.

Offline curaga

• Administrator
Re: Dual Monitor Backgrounds
« Reply #1 on: December 25, 2011, 09:02:27 AM »
Depends on how you set up the multihead; if automatic/xrandr/xinerama, you'd need an xrandr/xinerama-aware wm/bg-setter. I'm not sure if hsetroot has that capability.

If they are different screens/zaphod, it is quite easy to say:
DISPLAY=:0.0 hsetroot ....
DISPLAY=:0.1 hsetroot ....
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline KHarvey

« Reply #2 on: December 25, 2011, 09:51:17 AM »
Thanks for the response curaga.

I am actually using the NVidia X Server settings with XOrg and have configured Twinview.

Looking at the settings inside the NVidia X Server it only shows that I have one Display Name of tc:0.0
So I was able to build a command:
DISPLAY=tc:0.0 hsetroot /mnt/sdb2/Wallpaper/Random.jpg
And it sets the wallpaper but it still splits it between the two monitors.  When I try using tc:0.1 I get a Segmentation Fault.  I think that maybe I built my dual monitors incorrectly?

By the way Merry Christmas  :D

Offline curaga

• Administrator