WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Which ISO to use  (Read 2694 times)

nomer

Which ISO to use
« on: December 15, 2011, 06:00:18 PM »
Hi there,

I'm quite new to Tiny Core Linux. I've only run it a few times and it has been a while. I never did get it working on USB.

I've now purchased some CD to run LiveCDs on and I'd like to give Tiny Core another try. I want to use the latest version.

The  question is what is the difference between the tinycore and multicore iso? I want to be able to run it from USB (since that should have a shorter boot time?) after burning a cd and booting it.
If I can turn TCL into a system that I really like, I'll consider moving it to a frugal hard drive install.

The main reason for my trying TCL when I have a system that is running Puppy Linux is to mess around with a live Linux/GNU system that has support for multiple users.

Thanks for your time,
Nomer
« Last Edit: December 15, 2011, 06:04:15 PM by nomer »

Offline gerald_clark

• TinyCore Moderator
Re: Which ISO to use
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2011, 06:09:44 PM »
Welcome to the core.
Please spend some time in the wiki.
microcore ( core ) is a command line linux.
tinycore is core + X and a window manager.

Offline Rich

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2011, 06:17:02 PM »
Hi nomer
Multicore contains both Tinycore and Microcore. In addition, it contains a lot of wireless driver
support. Multicore is intended to be an installation tool.

Offline thane

« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2011, 08:59:38 PM »