WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: grub4dos.gz  (Read 30093 times)

Offline Guy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1089
Re: tc-grub4dos
« Reply #45 on: May 29, 2011, 11:10:24 PM »
It would good to get some feedback from people using this on Vista and Win7, and other versions of Windows, just to confirm that it works.
Many people see what is. Some people see what can be, and make a difference.

Offline maro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1228
Re: tc-grub4dos
« Reply #46 on: May 30, 2011, 01:07:21 AM »
It would good to get some feedback from people using this on Vista and Win7, and other versions of Windows, just to confirm that it works.

Sooo very true (and hence the point I brought it up).

I only use WinXP (or older) myself. Even though I won last year a Win7 Ultimate DVD (and license) at a meeting, I still have no desire to put it on any real HW, and I'm currently a bit short of time (and disk space) to run a test in a VM. One hopes that there are at least one user of each newer version that could run such a test ...

Offline jur

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 863
    • cycling photo essays
Re: tc-grub4dos
« Reply #47 on: May 30, 2011, 04:08:53 AM »
@jur, I don't see brub in the grub4dos.tcz on which this starter pack is based. I have no desire to "adopt" .....
Oops fat fingers, must be 'grub'

Offline jur

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 863
    • cycling photo essays
Re: tc-grub4dos
« Reply #48 on: May 30, 2011, 04:17:48 AM »
Adding the additional entry to boot.ini did not result in a Windows menu, instead XP booted directly. Only after the many steps to force XP to display a boot menu, and then I needed to increase the time for the user to make a selection.

If, however, there is no boot.ini for newer versions of Windows, then using boot.ini is a moot point.

If Vista and Win7 are able to be chain loaded then existing starter pack should work.
 
Unfortunately no. The boot stanza instructs grub to search for boot.ini and set that partition as root. So it will fail with Vista and Win 7.

Offline SvOlli

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 193
  • Linux Developer
Re: tc-grub4dos
« Reply #49 on: May 30, 2011, 09:36:30 AM »
Better try it like this:
Code: [Select]
title Boot Windows NT
find --set-root /bootmgr && chainloader /bootmgr
find --set-root /ntldr && chainloader /ntldr
This way it will work, even when the boot sector of the Windows partition is broken.

Updated: since the ntldr was replaced by bootmgr, we need to try both, if /bootmgr succeeds, /ntldr will not be tried. The first version I posted here first would not work. Sorry.
« Last Edit: May 30, 2011, 02:14:39 PM by SvOlli »

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: tc-grub4dos
« Reply #50 on: May 30, 2011, 03:30:07 PM »
Thanks for suggestion. Will implement.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: tc-grub4dos
« Reply #51 on: May 30, 2011, 04:21:16 PM »
Implemented SvOlli's suggestion and renamed tc-grub4dos.gz to simply grub4dos.gz
Posted here: http://distro.ibiblio.org/tinycorelinux/3.x/starterpacks/
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline SvOlli

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 193
  • Linux Developer
Re: tc-grub4dos
« Reply #52 on: May 31, 2011, 09:14:18 AM »
Maybe all starter packs should be prefixed with "sp-", so it would be "sp-grub4dos.gz"?
It's a better distinction from the "grub4dos.tcz" package.

And http://distro.ibiblio.org/tinycorelinux/3.x/release_candidates/starterpacks/ is empty.

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: tc-grub4dos
« Reply #53 on: May 31, 2011, 09:29:17 AM »
That is longer than DOS's 8.3 name restriction.

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: tc-grub4dos
« Reply #54 on: May 31, 2011, 10:29:59 AM »
I am open to suggestions for better names within the 8.3 limit.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline SvOlli

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 193
  • Linux Developer
Re: tc-grub4dos
« Reply #55 on: May 31, 2011, 02:56:30 PM »
Within 8.3 it's hard. I'm seeing three alternatives:
- grub4dos.gz (when it needs to be 8.3 it might be good to keep it, it's an initrd, so .gz fits)
- sp-g4d.gz (truncate the name, to make space for "sp-")
- grub4dos.spz (move the "sp"-marker to the extension)

There's no alternative that I'd claim to be free of any disadvantage, so I put all three in here for discussion.

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: tc-grub4dos
« Reply #56 on: May 31, 2011, 04:29:11 PM »
- grub4dos.spz (move the "sp"-marker to the extension)

Is it verified that ".spz" would work as initrd with all possible boot loaders?
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline jur

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 863
    • cycling photo essays
Re: tc-grub4dos
« Reply #57 on: June 01, 2011, 04:06:54 AM »
Within 8.3 it's hard. I'm seeing three alternatives:
- grub4dos.gz (when it needs to be 8.3 it might be good to keep it, it's an initrd, so .gz fits)
- sp-g4d.gz (truncate the name, to make space for "sp-")
- grub4dos.spz (move the "sp"-marker to the extension)

There's no alternative that I'd claim to be free of any disadvantage, so I put all three in here for discussion.
How is grub4dos.spz better than grub4dos.gz?

Offline coreplayer

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: tc-grub4dos
« Reply #58 on: June 01, 2011, 10:49:42 PM »
My control panel doesn't have any option to load a starterpack, or if it does I can't find it!!

Offline Guy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1089
Re: tc-grub4dos
« Reply #59 on: June 01, 2011, 10:55:10 PM »
Quote
My control panel doesn't have any option to load a starterpack, or if it does I can't find it!!

You need version 3.7rc2 or higher.
Many people see what is. Some people see what can be, and make a difference.