WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: on remastering  (Read 1278 times)

ali

  • Guest
on remastering
« on: May 15, 2011, 08:24:52 AM »
hi, i'm trying to remaster tinycore linux for myself, i just love playing with stuff
so what i did was to empty my sda5 and sda6 partition
i copied the /boot folder in both sda5 and sda6 and set the bootflags to tce=sda5 and sda6 according to my interests
sda6 was going to be my automated tiny and sda5 my manual one
so i boot into sda6, when it was all loaded i started doing my thing

Code: [Select]
tce-load -wi Xlibs.tcz
tce-load -wi Xprogs.tcz
tce-load -wi ati-fglrx.tcz
tce-load -wi ati-openbox.tcz
tce-load -wi openbox.tcz
sudo aticonfig --initial
cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf > /mnt/sda5/xorg.conf
i started x to check if it was working and it was all good
so i rebooted, entered into my normal microcore (on sda10)
copied everything from sda6/tce/optional into sda5/tce/optional
i made 4 scripts based on the instructions found on the wiki
(the scripts are at the bottom of the post)

everything went according to plan
i try to load sda5 and it doesn't startx
whatever
Code: [Select]
echo "openbox" | sudo tee /etc/sysconfig/desktop
echo "Xorg" | sudo tee /etc/sysconfig/Xserver
i try to startx again, ths time it works
but the fonts are all messed up

am i missing something?




save-me
Code: [Select]
#! /bin/bash
echo "extracting"
/home/ali/re1
cd /mnt/sda5/tce/optional
echo "installing"
LIST=`ls`
for X in $LIST;
do
echo $X
/home/ali/re3 $X
done
cp /mnt/sda5/xorg.conf | sudo tee /tmp/extract/etc/X11/xorg.conf
echo "saving"
/home/ali/re2

re1
Code: [Select]
#! /bin/bash
cp /mnt/sda5/boot/microcore.gz /tmp
mkdir /tmp/extract
cd /tmp/extract
zcat /tmp/microcore.gz | sudo cpio -i -H newc -d

re2
Code: [Select]
#! /bin/bash
sudo depmod -b /tmp/extract/ 2.6.33.3-tinycore
sudo ldconfig -r /tmp/extract
cd /tmp/extract
sudo find | sudo cpio -o -H newc | gzip -2 > ../microcore.gz
cd /tmp
advdef -z4 microcore.gz
mv microcore.gz /mnt/sda5/boot/

re3
Code: [Select]
#! /bin/bash
X=$1
cp ./$X ../
echo "" > $X
sudo mount ../$X ../mount
du -sh /tmp/extract
du -sh ../mount
sudo cp -r ../mount/* /tmp/extract
du -sh /tmp/extract
sudo umount ../mount
rm -rf ../$X

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6700
Re: on remastering
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2011, 08:46:04 AM »
Hi ali
Besides copying from sda6/tce/optional did you copy from sda6/tce? Also any data that may have
been created when you set up sda6 would be under a different subdirectory.

ali

  • Guest
Re: on remastering
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2011, 08:57:28 AM »
i didn't copy anything else, and i'm not sure i understand the second question
(p.s. i did this twice with the same results)

Offline beerstein

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 523
Re: on remastering
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2011, 02:09:38 PM »
could you fix the problem? if yes - how 
I have the same problem (missing wbar) when I switch between desktops.
For instance when I use XFCE 4.8 (which I loaded from the repo) and then go back
to the original TC WM
t(w)o be(ers) or not t(w)o be(ers) that is the question

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6700
Re: on remastering
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2011, 05:26:40 PM »
Hi ali
sda6/tce/optional is where applications are stored
sda6/tce/ is where mydata.tgz, onboot.lst, and xwbar.list are stored
sda6/tce/ondemand/ is where TC stores scripts for applications installed as OnDemand

Quote
cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf > /mnt/sda5/xorg.conf

This type of stuff would be better done using the backup script so that it gets put back
in the right location.

Quote
sudo aticonfig --initial

If this generates a data file it should be backed up too.