WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: ntfs-3g error  (Read 6187 times)

Offline goyfilms

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
ntfs-3g error
« on: May 11, 2011, 03:07:14 AM »
hi!
when I try to mount a NTFS partition:

Quote
ntfs-3g /dev/sda2 /mnt/sda2
I got this error:

Code: [Select]
error opening '/dev/sda2': Permission denied
Failed to mount 'dev/sda2': Permission denied
Please check 'dev/sda2' and th ntfs-3g binary permissions,
and th mounting user ID. More explanation is provided at
http://ntfs-3g.org/support.html#unprivileged

I tried a lot of things, but I can't solve it.
Any idea?  ???

Offline SamK

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 713
Re: ntfs-3g error
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2011, 03:31:01 AM »
Did you try the method mentioned in the info tab of the app in AppBrowser?  It indicates that sudo is used.
   

Offline goyfilms

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: ntfs-3g error
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2011, 03:42:18 AM »
Did you try the method mentioned in the info tab of the app in AppBrowser?  It indicates that sudo is used.
   

If I do:
Quote
sudo ntfs-3g /dev/sda2 /mnt/sda2
it returns:
Quote
FATAL: Module fuse not found.
Failed to write lock '/dev/sda2': Permission denied
Error opening '/dev/sda2': Permission denied
Failed to mount '/dev/sda2': Permissio denied
Please check '/dev/sda2' and the ntfs-3g binary permissions,
and the mounting user ID. More explanation is provided at
http://ntfs-3g.org/support.html#unprivileged

Offline SamK

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 713
Re: ntfs-3g error
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2011, 05:43:03 AM »
It might be useful to know more about your system, storage and app. 

Which version of TC/MC are you using? 

Post the output of:
Code: [Select]
blkid -o list | grep /dev/[hs]

The reference to the missing fuse module looks suspicious.  Try
Code: [Select]
ntfs-3g
This will display the app version and also some information about fuse and configuration.
   

Offline goyfilms

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: ntfs-3g error
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2011, 06:02:06 AM »
Code: [Select]
blkid -o list | grep /dev/[hs]
returns
Code: [Select]
Invalid output format list.  Chose from value, device, or full
if I write only "blkid" it returns:

Code: [Select]
/dev/sda1: TYPE="ntfs"
/dev/sda2: TYPE="ntfs"
/dev/sdb1: LABEL="GOYFILMSUSB" UUID="D415-643C" TYPE="vfat"

and "ntfs-3g" returns:

Code: [Select]
ntfs-3g: No device is specified.

ntfs-3g 2010.5.22 integrated FUSE 27 - Third Generation NTFS Driver
                Configuration type 1, XATTRS are on, POSIX ACLS are off
               
Copyright (C) 2005-2007 Yura Pakhuchiy
Copyright (C) 2006-2009 Szabolcs Szakacsits
Copyright (C) 2007-2010 Jean-Pierre Andre
Copyright (C) 2009 Erik Larsson
               
Usage:    ntfs-3g [-o option[,...]] <device|image_file> <mount_point>
               
Options:  ro (read-only mount), remove_hiberfile, uid=, gid=,
          umask=, fmask=, dmask=, streams_interface=.
          Please see the details in the manual (type: man ntfs-3g).
                                   
Example: ntfs-3g /dev/sda1 /mnt/windows
                                   
Ntfs-3g news, support and information:  http://ntfs-3g.org

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9730
Re: ntfs-3g error
« Reply #5 on: May 11, 2011, 06:50:35 AM »
Ntfs-3g works fine here with a Windows XP ntfs partition on a hard drive.  

By being sda, it appears like a usb or external hard drive is being used, though that may or may not be part of the issue.
« Last Edit: May 11, 2011, 06:52:31 AM by Jason W »

Offline SamK

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 713
Re: ntfs-3g error
« Reply #6 on: May 11, 2011, 07:00:44 AM »
Code: [Select]
blkid -o list | grep /dev/[hs]
returns
Code: [Select]
Invalid output format list.  Chose from value, device, or full
if I write only "blkid" it returns:

Code: [Select]
/dev/sda1: TYPE="ntfs"
/dev/sda2: TYPE="ntfs"
/dev/sdb1: LABEL="GOYFILMSUSB" UUID="D415-643C" TYPE="vfat"
A couple of odd things...
Code: [Select]
blkid -o list | grep /dev/[hs]
Is regularly used here and never fails with
Quote
invalid output format. Chose from value, device, or full
Code: [Select]
blkid --help
shows -o list as a standard option.

Code: [Select]
blkid
When issued without any options this should produce a many more entries than the those that you report.

What version of TC/MC are you using?
   

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: ntfs-3g error
« Reply #7 on: May 11, 2011, 07:37:01 AM »
A couple of odd things...

What I find odd is the absence of LABEL= & UUID=
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline goyfilms

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: ntfs-3g error
« Reply #8 on: May 11, 2011, 07:52:41 AM »
I am using a remastered version based on TC 2.5

Offline SamK

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 713
Re: ntfs-3g error
« Reply #9 on: May 11, 2011, 08:13:00 AM »
I am using a remastered version based on TC 2.5
As this is not in use here and the command outputs differ, I will withdraw at this point.

Ntfs-3g works fine here with a Windows XP ntfs partition on a hard drive. 

By being sda, it appears like a usb or external hard drive is being used, though that may or may not be part of the issue.
My experience is similar to this; ntfs-3g works well.  It is also successfully mounting multiple NTFS partitions on a local USB disk.
   

Offline goyfilms

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: ntfs-3g error
« Reply #10 on: May 11, 2011, 08:48:09 AM »
I think I haven't the fuse module and I don't know how to get it
I tried to download ntfs-3g and fuse sources and compile them but the result is the same
probably a kernel problem?
I don't know what to do...

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10961
Re: ntfs-3g error
« Reply #11 on: May 11, 2011, 09:57:14 AM »
FUSE is built in, in both 2.x and 3.x.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11220
Re: ntfs-3g error
« Reply #12 on: May 11, 2011, 10:13:09 AM »

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: ntfs-3g error
« Reply #13 on: May 11, 2011, 11:47:01 AM »
Try using a real TinyCore release instead of a remastered version.
Do you still have the problem?

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: ntfs-3g error
« Reply #14 on: May 11, 2011, 01:01:36 PM »
I am using a remastered version based on TC 2.5

Do you refer to a remaster of yourself or a 3rd party distributor?

Do you always load tce-notify before any other extension?
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)