WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: [SOLVED] menu at bottom of tinycore  (Read 4456 times)

lmart

  • Guest
[SOLVED] menu at bottom of tinycore
« on: May 01, 2011, 07:06:58 AM »
How does one make the icons on the bottom menu stationary?  The roll-over effects are likely cool, however, they wreck havoc on cataracts.  Thanks.
« Last Edit: May 05, 2011, 07:52:26 PM by lmart »

Offline floppy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 577
Re: menu at bottom of tinycore
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2011, 07:12:59 AM »
perhaps the wbarconf menu in the control panel is the solution?
See http://distro.ibiblio.org/tinycorelinux/tc_030_cp.html
AMD K6-IIIATZ 550MHz MB DFI K6xv3/+66
P4 HP DC7100 3GB 3GHz
Samsung NC10 boot from SD card port (via USB reader)
.. all TinyCore proofed

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10149
Re: menu at bottom of tinycore
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2011, 07:40:14 AM »
If wbarconf the gui app doesn't let you configure that, you can edit the wbar options in its start file. Can't recall the exact name though.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: menu at bottom of tinycore
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2011, 10:38:40 AM »
~/.wbar
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline Lee

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 645
    • My Core wiki user page
Re: menu at bottom of tinycore
« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2011, 01:02:46 PM »
Quote
~/.wbar
The settings of interest are zoomf, jumpf and nanim.  I think the control panel tool lets you set zoomf, but I've always just locked it down with -zoomf 1.0 -jumpf 0.0 and -nanim 1.

If you want to, you can use some of the other settings to color-highlight the icon under the cursor once you get them to all just hold still.

32 bit core4.7.7, Xprogs, Xorg-7.6, wbar, jwm  |  - Testing -
PPR, data persistence through filetool.sh          |  32 bit core 8.0 alpha 1
USB Flash drive, one partition, ext2, grub4dos  | Otherwise similar

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: menu at bottom of tinycore
« Reply #5 on: May 01, 2011, 01:53:09 PM »
'-nanim 1 -zoomf 1' works here.
Sure you have restarted wbar to reflect the changes?
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: menu at bottom of tinycore
« Reply #6 on: May 02, 2011, 12:44:11 PM »
Try putting everything on one line?
Perhaps easier if you just try parameters while starting wbar from CLI.
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11471
Re: menu at bottom of tinycore
« Reply #7 on: May 03, 2011, 08:17:21 PM »
The one to modify is /home/tc/.wbar

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: menu at bottom of tinycore
« Reply #8 on: May 03, 2011, 09:21:31 PM »
I do not know how to launch from the command line.
Code: [Select]
wbar --help
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: menu at bottom of tinycore
« Reply #9 on: May 04, 2011, 09:02:13 AM »
Code: [Select]
wbar -config /usr/local/tce.wbar [other options]
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline Lee

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 645
    • My Core wiki user page
Re: menu at bottom of tinycore
« Reply #10 on: May 05, 2011, 01:10:26 PM »
Quote
ave yet to find the switch that turns off the app name on mouse rollover.  Does anyone know how to turn it off?

-nofont

32 bit core4.7.7, Xprogs, Xorg-7.6, wbar, jwm  |  - Testing -
PPR, data persistence through filetool.sh          |  32 bit core 8.0 alpha 1
USB Flash drive, one partition, ext2, grub4dos  | Otherwise similar

Offline Lee

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 645
    • My Core wiki user page
Re: menu at bottom of tinycore
« Reply #11 on: May 05, 2011, 01:15:42 PM »
You'll have to edit that into ~/.wbar yourself and then right-clicking the wbar on screen isn't enough to really restart it - that just re-reads the icons file.

If you open the wbar tool on the control pannel and just click the "Apply" button it will restart the wbar completely and re read your ~/.wbar file.

32 bit core4.7.7, Xprogs, Xorg-7.6, wbar, jwm  |  - Testing -
PPR, data persistence through filetool.sh          |  32 bit core 8.0 alpha 1
USB Flash drive, one partition, ext2, grub4dos  | Otherwise similar

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7328
Re: menu at bottom of tinycore
« Reply #12 on: May 05, 2011, 07:19:58 PM »
Hi lmart
Go to your first post in this thread, click modify, add [SOLVED] to the title, click save.

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: [SOLVED] menu at bottom of tinycore
« Reply #13 on: May 05, 2011, 08:06:27 PM »
FYI wbar is not unique to Tiny Core and can be easily googled for support configuration options.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: menu at bottom of tinycore
« Reply #14 on: May 05, 2011, 11:02:44 PM »
Go to your first post in this thread, click modify, add [SOLVED] to the title, click save.

Perhaps this would be worth to be [part of] a sticky post?
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)