WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Why are my XVESA options limited???  (Read 1910 times)

Offline mOrloff

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Why are my XVESA options limited???
« on: April 20, 2011, 11:15:43 AM »
Warning: I'm basically completely green when it comes to anything *nix, so feel free to dummy-proof your replies.
In fact ... it'd be appreciated :)

Problem: When I boot into TC, the display auto-detects to a perfectly-acceptable resolution size, but the display is very dark and difficult to read.

Current Position: With some help, I was able to get acceptable COLOR by telling it to load to 1280x1024x16, but in that, the RESOLUTION somehow comes up lacking.  For some reason it loads to something MUCH smaller (apparently, 640x480).
I am seeking a way to have both, resolution and color (I know, I know ... I ask too much :-)

When I try to boot with 'tinycore norestore xsetup', there is only one option: 1. 640x480x16

Any idea why?
How do you suggest I move forward?

Thanks-a-bunch,
Mo

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9997
Re: Why are my XVESA options limited???
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2011, 11:28:53 AM »
You don't have enough video ram for higher resolutions or more color.

Let me guess, a Dell machine with Intel graphics?


Anyway, assign more video ram in the bios, or use Xorg.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline mOrloff

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: Why are my XVESA options limited???
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2011, 07:05:27 AM »
Hey ... you're good !!!
Dell machine with Intel graphics is spot on :)

Well, my preference is to just bump the vid ram, but I don't see a place to do that in the bios (and it looks like I already have the latest version).
If you have any tips for that, I'd be thrilled to hear them.

Otherwise, can you send me down the the right path with Xorg?
After the download+load completes...what should be my next step? (yep, I'm a total noob :) )

Thanks-a-bunch,
~ Mo

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9997
Re: Why are my XVESA options limited???
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2011, 07:30:18 AM »
Dell in particular are notorious for shipping with bad defaults regarding this, and no option in the bios to change it. At least other manufacturers give the user the bios option. :P


tce-load -wi Xorg-7.5-3d

Exit to prompt

startx
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10876
Re: Why are my XVESA options limited???
« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2011, 10:07:54 AM »
..and the Xorg auto-config will not work with most dells either  :(

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: Why are my XVESA options limited???
« Reply #5 on: April 21, 2011, 11:43:19 AM »
I haven't yet seen Xorg working confless on any box, and none of which I tried was a Dell   :P
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7003
    • My Community Forum
Re: Why are my XVESA options limited???
« Reply #6 on: April 21, 2011, 12:03:14 PM »
I haven't yet seen Xorg working confless on any box, and none of which I tried was a Dell   :P

Don't know what do you mean on box, but it works confless on my notebook and two desktops.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: Why are my XVESA options limited???
« Reply #7 on: April 21, 2011, 01:49:00 PM »
Did not work for me on 2 laptops and 1 netbook.
Just showing that there is obviosuly no average distribution of working or not per user   :P
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline danielibarnes

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 548
Re: Why are my XVESA options limited???
« Reply #8 on: April 21, 2011, 02:29:29 PM »
I recently built uvesafb and v86d. Do you think it would help some of these situations?