WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: [Solved] Help needed with system configuration  (Read 3616 times)

Offline 2byte

[Solved] Help needed with system configuration
« on: March 18, 2011, 04:55:09 PM »
Ok, I have been studying TC for a few weeks now and I need some assistance, my old brain just isn’t what it used to be. I think TC is exactly what I have been looking for and I will be successful if I can just get the basics into my head. I have sifted through the wiki and this forum and have found a lot of info. I have a frugal install of TC 3.5 and have remastered MC to a CD. However, some simple things are eluding me.
For instance what exactly is PPI and PPR?

Now for my big question. I have a minor remaster of microcore that only has JWM, Libreoffice, and a few small utilities, booting from a CD with persistent storage on the HD. Where I am failing is with the handling of the extensions. I have a tce dir on the hard drive with /optional for the extensions. The extensions are loading on boot and working BUT they are consuming way too much ram, 400+ mb just starting Libreoffice. My onboot.lst contains Xlibs.tcz Xprogs.tcz Xvesa.tcz jwm.tcz and libreoffice.tcz. I only have 512mb of ram so I have created and use a tc.swp swap file but I really want to get the ram usage down as much as practical without killing performance. I figure the problem must be that the extensions are copying to ram instead of just running from /optional, but I do not see how to change this.

Will some kind soul please offer some guidance on how I can configure microcore to run Libreoffice from /optional without loading the entire extension to ram, or without using tce-load from the terminal?

TIA
2byte
« Last Edit: March 19, 2011, 05:38:06 AM by 2byte »

Offline gerald_clark

• TinyCore Moderator
Re: Help needed with system configuration
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2011, 05:09:37 PM »