WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Virtual Machines on Tiny Core  (Read 5205 times)

Offline sky

Virtual Machines on Tiny Core
« on: February 26, 2011, 09:46:50 AM »
Hi,

I'm new to Tiny Core, new to dd commands, new to vi, etc. I installed TC on a logical Partition alongside Freedos and Lubuntu. Now every function which I need is working in TC (Midori, xonclock, persistency, ...). Thanks to the good short howtos, wiki and this forum.

But one topic I'm missing: "Virtual Machines on Tiny Core".  I installed qemu and kvm via AppBrowser (as ondemand). Downloaded the sample image linux-0.2.img from the qemu-website. After that I tried "qemu linux-0.2.img" and got nothing. No response, no error message.  I tried "qemu --help" / "qemu -h", because this my first step, when I don't know what to do. But again no response.

Could somebody, with deeper technical knowledge than me, please write a short howto in the style of the other howtos and publish it for the community. Or could someone give me instructions how to load a virtual machine inside TC - but that would only help my and not improve the wiki.

Best regards

Offline curaga

• Administrator
Re: Virtual Machines on Tiny Core
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2011, 09:58:48 AM »
What I usually do to test a live cd:

qemu -cdrom /path/to/tinycore.iso

Running a VM on TC doesn't differ from other distros really, but I do load qemu onboot, perhaps there's some interaction with the ondemand script here.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline curaga

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2011, 10:11:25 AM »
OK, tried it out. Since Qemu doesn't have a menu item, its binary is not recognized by the ondemand setup script, and so the first invocation only loads the qemu extension, without launching the binary.