WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: (solved) Home Plug Ethernet Adapter  (Read 3041 times)

Offline floppy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 577
(solved) Home Plug Ethernet Adapter
« on: January 03, 2011, 03:43:47 AM »
Hello,
on my good old machine, I have a WLAN. But this is not really fast. I dont have a LAN harness; except I take one through the whole house (25m..); what my wife dont like it.
So, I found something else:  "Home plug Ethernet Adapter" (1 at a LAN router, the second nearby my PC).
I received already a response from somebody saying in www.wer-weiss-was.de : faster than WLAN: yes, Slower than LAN-harness: yes.
The experience seems not to have been so good (seems not dead negativ).
Has somebody here any experience with it? (good/bad comparison with WLAN/LAN-harness..)
- security ok? setup required?
- speed in comparison to WLAN/Harness-LAN?
- which models are the best?
- are there connecting recommendations?
Thanks. (I need more feedback/recommendations before I buy it)
« Last Edit: May 21, 2011, 03:06:06 PM by floppy »
AMD K6-IIIATZ 550MHz MB DFI K6xv3/+66
P4 HP DC7100 3GB 3GHz
Samsung NC10 boot from SD card port (via USB reader)
.. all TinyCore proofed

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10537
Re: Home Plug Ethernet Adapter
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2011, 04:20:34 AM »
Orange have been selling these in France for several years now and say they are good enough to stream hd tv, so you'd think they should be OK.

I didn't try myself though..

Offline SamK

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 713
Re: Home Plug Ethernet Adapter
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2011, 04:20:50 AM »
The memory gets a little hazy about the details as it is some years ago since I last used these devices.   

They were used in a Widows XP environment and worked reliably and well (never used with TC or any Linux distro).  The units had a published maximum speed of 85Mbps and consistently achieved in the region of 35/40Mbps.  This was significantly quicker than the wireless adaptors I checked at the time.  The speed of Home Plug devices has increased since then a higher speeds might be obtained. 

If my memory is accurate the speed of a Home Plug LAN decreases as the number of devices in use increases (five were used in the LAN).   

Which are the best is open to personal interpretation; again from memory the devices I describe were German.
   

Offline beerstein

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 523
Re: Home Plug Ethernet Adapter
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2011, 04:48:43 AM »
IHome Plug Ethernet Adaptor = power line ethernet adaptor - am I right?

I use those for several years. In Bavaria/Germany I can recommend the Allnet brand.
A pair costs about Euro 80.00 incl tax in Munich. Price depens on speed.

In California I recently bought a set of two drom BestBuy for about $149.00 plus tax.
Brand is "BELKIN" This set is much more powerful than the Allnet I am using in Bavaria.
This Belkins have switsches where you can set the NIC basis hardware address and some
other secuity features
t(w)o be(ers) or not t(w)o be(ers) that is the question

Offline floppy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 577
Re: Home Plug Ethernet Adapter
« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2011, 03:55:42 AM »
I installed it. 2x conrad powerline AV500.
very good.
I am happy.
AMD K6-IIIATZ 550MHz MB DFI K6xv3/+66
P4 HP DC7100 3GB 3GHz
Samsung NC10 boot from SD card port (via USB reader)
.. all TinyCore proofed

Offline beerstein

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 523
Re: Home Plug Ethernet Adapter
« Reply #5 on: January 15, 2011, 06:46:33 AM »
good to hear - I have 3 old Belkins, but I do not know which speed.
What speed do your adapters have?
What is needed for hd video?
t(w)o be(ers) or not t(w)o be(ers) that is the question

Offline floppy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 577
Re: Home Plug Ethernet Adapter
« Reply #6 on: January 15, 2011, 01:11:57 PM »
good to hear - I have 3 old Belkins, but I do not know which speed.
What speed do your adapters have?
What is needed for hd video?
seems to be max 500Mbit/s
indicator (led) on the boxes mounted in the house show <80Mbit/s (probably due to the electrical architecture); but still ok for my AMD K6-2 450MHz and DFI K6XV3+/66.
see http://www.conrad.de/ce/de/product/975222/CONRAD-POWERLINE-ADAPTER-PL500D/0415139
HD? dont know. Dont have one. Never had a touch with it (have still a small cathodic television; but with colour. flat screen? dont know)
AMD K6-IIIATZ 550MHz MB DFI K6xv3/+66
P4 HP DC7100 3GB 3GHz
Samsung NC10 boot from SD card port (via USB reader)
.. all TinyCore proofed