General TC > General TC Talk

Terminal Services... NEED HELP

(1/4) > >>

jconnor:
I am new to Tiny Core Linux so please keep responses on the "dummy" level.

I have TCL installed on one computer "mothership" and have been able to net boot another computer after I setup Terminal Services on the mothership computer.  All I did was go into the Control Panel and press on the Terminal Services button and answer the questions that came up.  Very simple....

It all works, but I was expecting the client computer that is net booting to have the same applications installed as the mothership.  It just comes up as a bare bones TCL install.

I have looked at the Wiki for netbooting and it makes no sense to me.  There are commands that point to paths that I don't have on my install.  It appears that the Wiki may be out of date.... maybe.

I really need to understand how to get the client computers to have the same setup as the mothership as far as installed applications.  Is there a simple way of setting this up in TCL 3.4?  I don't want to do anything fancy. 

It appears that my install is attempting to use TFTPd.  The Terminal Services window indicates that the TFTPd has a server error (0) and is aborted.  Then it shows several lines tftpd: Can't open file.

thanks!

tinypoodle:

--- Quote from: jconnor on December 28, 2010, 06:11:16 PM ---I really need to understand how to get the client computers to have the same setup as the mothership as far as installed applications.  Is there a simple way of setting this up in TCL 3.4?  I don't want to do anything fancy. 

--- End quote ---

One possible approach would be Dynamic root filesystem remastering as described here:
http://wiki.tinycorelinux.com/Dynamic+root+filesystem+remastering

jconnor:
thanks, but I would like to do this without remastering.  Is there a way to do this "out of the box" when you press the terminal services button in the control panel?