WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: pppd help needed - Dial up modem  (Read 2715 times)

Offline simon.tinycore

• No MSoft allowed
    • My Blog
pppd help needed - Dial up modem
« on: December 05, 2010, 09:41:58 AM »
I am a Newb to tiny core and I think it is great :) All I want to do is connect to the internet using my 3g mobile modem. I have attached my pppscript and options files.

I am trying to set up my mobile broadband by using pppd and pppsetup. Where have I gone wrong. I have followed the suggestions thus far on the forum (adapting them with my own settings) and I cannot connect to the ISP. I can connect  to ISP on Ubuntu using  wvdial with the following settings in wvdial.conf

[Dialer Defaults]
Init1 = ATZ
Init2 = ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
Init3 = AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","internet"
Modem Type = USB Modem
Baud = 460800
New PPPD = yes
Modem = /dev/ttyACM0
ISDN = 0
Phone = *99**1*1#
Password = ''
Username = ''

I would like to know how I can adapt these settings so that I can get pppd working properly. I also think I am having trouble with adding the Init3 line into pppscript, I have entered:

""ATZ OK "ATQO V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0" OK "AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","internet""

Is this correct.

Please could someone show me how to write a dial script to mimic the way wvdial does it. OR any other suggestions will be appreciated. OR I have noted on the forums that someone was successful installing wvdial puppy dog Linux 2008 version on Tiny core by manually copying the files over. Can anyone send me the files or show me where they can be downloaded(I have already tried puppy dogs web page)

Thankyou
« Last Edit: December 05, 2010, 12:17:59 PM by simon.tinycore »

Offline maro

Re: pppd help needed - Dial up modem
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2010, 06:29:23 PM »