WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: How do I increase screen resolution?  (Read 7603 times)

Offline bill41

How do I increase screen resolution?
« on: December 01, 2010, 11:29:41 AM »
When I boot Tiny Core Linux 3.1 from live CD I include" tinycore Xsetup" and "acpi=off" in the bootloader.  As Tiny loads Xversa Resolution Setup offers me a maximum resolution of 800x600x16 that, when loaded, only occupies a rectangle of 8.5 inches (22cms) diagonal in the centre of the screen.  I understand that this may be the maximum resolution Tiny Core 'thinks' the graphics card in my Sony Vaio laptop is capable of.  But the 15 inch (approx 38cms) screen is capable of a resolution of 1400x1050x70.  What do I need to do to achieve this resolution? Step by step instructions would be much appreciated as I am relatively new to command line working. Many thanks. Bill

Offline gerald_clark

• TinyCore Moderator
Re: How do I increase screen resolution?
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2010, 11:50:46 AM »
You did not identify the video chip used, so no idea.

Offline tinypoodle

« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2010, 11:55:03 AM »
xsetup not Xsetup
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline bill41

« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2010, 12:03:17 PM »
The Systems Resource report I produced when running Windows XP lists a Display Adapter as Intel(R) 82815Graphics Controller.  Is this the information you need?

Offline maro

« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2010, 12:11:09 PM »
bill41: For Xvesa it's probably best to run Xvesa -listmodes

My hunch is that 1400x1050 might not be amongst the supported modes (at least a quick look at this document makes me think that). OTOH there is always the 'Xorg-7.5.tcz' extension, albeit I personally try to avoid using it and also prefer Xvesa whenever possible.