WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Full system backup  (Read 4180 times)

Offline roman.styler

Full system backup
« on: October 06, 2010, 03:58:47 AM »
Hi All.
Recently, I've bought small server for home and installed tinycore. I'm new in Linux and want to do experiments with it.
Main question is: I want to make full backup of my boot partition. It's not big (60-70Mb). And if I'll make mistakes - I can restore my operation system with all files.
Please, can you help me, how can I do it?
Thanks.

Offline SamK

Re: Full system backup
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2010, 06:40:55 AM »
And if I'll make mistakes - I can restore my operation system with all files.
Are you wanting to use TC specifically for the back-up or are you just wanting a simple way to return your system to a known good condition if your experiments go wrong?  If it the latter, Clonezilla might be worth looking at:
http://clonezilla.org
It is not strictly a back-up application but takes a snapshot-image of a partition or entire disk (often referred to as ghosting).  It runs from a bootable CD or USB flash drive and can compress the image of the partition or disk making it easier to store.

Once you know how to use it and have tested your image restores correctly, you will be able to conduct whatever experiments you wish, knowing that returning your system to the condition it was on the date the image was created takes only a few minutes.

Online Juanito

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2010, 07:20:14 AM »
If you want to backup your partition to an external usb drive, you can boot from a tc cd and do something like this:
Code: [Select]
$ sudo dd if=/dev/hda1 of=/dev/sda1 bs=64k conv=notrunc,noerror

Offline roman.styler

« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2010, 07:47:27 AM »
Thank for answers.
As I found out, I can create copy of main partition only if I booted from cd or usb?
It's very bad - because server, which I use, doesn't have monitor and keyboard.