WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: [solved] Cpufreq default governor  (Read 3748 times)

Offline uggla

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
[solved] Cpufreq default governor
« on: September 06, 2010, 02:24:46 AM »
Hi!

Is there a way to set the default cpufreq governor without installing cpufreq-tools and set cpufreq-set to run at every boot?

regards
/Uggla
« Last Edit: September 06, 2010, 01:56:03 PM by uggla »

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10957
Re: Cpufreq default governor
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2010, 05:18:12 AM »
The info and control files are at

/sys/devices/system/cpu/cpuX/cpufreq/

Replace X with the core you want to control.

You can (as root) echo the governor you want into the current_governor (IIRC) file. I tend to do this as well, if there's a way via /proc or /sys I never use an util.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline uggla

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
Re: Cpufreq default governor
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2010, 01:55:33 PM »
Works like a charm. Thanks!

/Uggla

Offline Machacz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: [solved] Cpufreq default governor
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2017, 07:12:55 AM »
Quote from: curaga
I tend to do this as well...
Quote from: uggla
Works like a charm.
I tried to poke 'conservative' into /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scalling_governor, but it's impossible to modify this file and other files in this directory. Your posts are from 2010 year. Can you do this actually ?
What version do you use now ?

Offline Misalf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1702
Re: [solved] Cpufreq default governor
« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2017, 07:41:49 AM »
Code: [Select]
echo "conservative" | sudo tee /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu[0-99]/cpufreq/scaling_governor
Download a copy and keep it handy: Core book ;)

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14516
Re: [solved] Cpufreq default governor
« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2017, 07:45:49 AM »
I think the problem is here:
Code: [Select]
$ cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_available_governors
performance powersave

Code: [Select]
$ sudo su
# echo 'conservative' > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor
sh: write error: Invalid argument
# echo 'performance' > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor
# cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor
performance

Edit: This has me puzzled though:
Code: [Select]
# modprobe cpufreq_conservative
# cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_available_governors
performance powersave
« Last Edit: February 17, 2017, 07:58:12 AM by Juanito »

Offline Machacz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: [solved] Cpufreq default governor
« Reply #6 on: February 21, 2017, 10:16:21 AM »
Quote from: Misalf
echo "conservative" | sudo tee . . .
conservative
tee: /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreqd/scalling_governor: I/O Error

Quote from: Juanito
and lsmod lists cpufreq_conservative.


Do your computers blow worm when do nothing ?