WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: UTF-8  (Read 7891 times)

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10048
Re: UTF-8
« Reply #15 on: August 24, 2010, 10:42:30 AM »
Script updated. Also added an example lang= param (the last processed one) to the help text at the end.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline eluring

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: UTF-8
« Reply #16 on: August 28, 2010, 11:31:52 AM »
AT curaga:
getlocale script used in tc3.1rc2, see attached screenshot.
Screenshot shows geany running in German and another in bmarkus´ language.

I found out that reboot is not required, if lang is set in bootcode or set in terminal.
A "Quick-Locale-Switcher" may follow soon  or later.

May I propose something that you could do when you are bored again?  ;)

Add the already installed locales to the top of the list.  ;D

That would have helped me to avoid a failure, to forget that one chosen locale will not be added but will remain as the only locale, my fault not your´s.

Thank you again and have a nice day.
Everyone is a foreigner, almost everywhere.

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7013
    • My Community Forum
Re: UTF-8
« Reply #17 on: August 28, 2010, 12:08:18 PM »
Hungarian text looks OK on the screenshot!
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10048
Re: UTF-8
« Reply #18 on: August 28, 2010, 12:12:47 PM »
True, many ways to achieve anything here ;). But to have it working everywhere, it's simpler to use the bootcode and reboot (there is often confusion when a var set in a shell doesn't affect the environment).

Quote
Add the already installed locales to the top of the list.

Wouldn't be that easy to do; what would be the benefit? Selecting them again will not install two sets, not selecting them will not remove them.

Quote
That would have helped me to avoid a failure, to forget that one chosen locale will not be added but will remain as the only locale, my fault not your´s.

Sorry?

Any selected locales will be added to those already installed:
Quote
$ locale -a
C
POSIX
$ sudo getlocale.sh # select one locale, aa_DJ
$ locale -a
C
POSIX
aa_DJ
aa_DJ.iso88591
$ sudo getlocale.sh # select one locale, af_ZA
$ locale -a
C
POSIX
aa_DJ
aa_DJ.iso88591
af_ZA
af_ZA.iso88591
$ sudo getlocale.sh # Select af_ZA again
$ locale -a
C
POSIX
aa_DJ
aa_DJ.iso88591
af_ZA
af_ZA.iso88591

edit:
Of course the adding behavior above is only in the same session.
A reboot and a mounted extension would not add to the installed ones.
« Last Edit: August 28, 2010, 12:15:40 PM by curaga »
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline eluring

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: UTF-8
« Reply #19 on: August 28, 2010, 12:38:39 PM »
Quote
Quote
Add the already installed locales to the top of the list.

Wouldn't be that easy to do; what would be the benefit? Selecting them again will not install two sets, not selecting them will not remove them.
Sorry, I wanted to say: the installed locales marked as selected
and was thinking that unselecting one of them would remove it from the archive after reboot.

What now?
No way for unselecting?
  then the headline in the dialog should contain something like "choose locale(s) to add"
Or make unselecting possible?
Everyone is a foreigner, almost everywhere.

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10048
Re: UTF-8
« Reply #20 on: August 28, 2010, 12:52:39 PM »
No way to remove just some that I know of. It's a remove-everything affair.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline eluring

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: UTF-8
« Reply #21 on: August 28, 2010, 01:42:40 PM »
treied
Code: [Select]
localedef --delete-from-archive ?
Everyone is a foreigner, almost everywhere.

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10048
Re: UTF-8
« Reply #22 on: August 29, 2010, 12:07:54 AM »
Heh :D That's not in the man page.

Anyway, this was not intended as a full-on gui around localedef, only a list to choose which are wanted.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline starix

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: UTF-8
« Reply #23 on: August 29, 2010, 11:25:24 PM »
ru_RU.UTF-8 & microcore
There is no still Russian fonts :(
I have "? ? ? ? ?" intead of cyrilic letters.
P.S. With ru_RU I had the same situation
« Last Edit: August 29, 2010, 11:28:02 PM by starix »

Offline peterc

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Re: UTF-8
« Reply #24 on: August 30, 2010, 07:13:32 AM »
ru_RU.UTF-8 & microcore

I'm assuming you're talking about the console. Get the console-cyrillic fonts archive (http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian/pool/main/c/console-cyrillic/console-cyrillic_0.9.orig.tar.gz), grab one of the psf fonts from the archive, and then run sudo loadfont < /path/to/font.psf. If it works, put that command into bootlocal.sh (without sudo).

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10048
Re: UTF-8
« Reply #25 on: August 30, 2010, 08:28:03 AM »
That's right, fonts are separate from the locale support.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2133
Re: UTF-8
« Reply #26 on: September 08, 2010, 02:56:13 PM »
mylocale.tcz doen't work on my system, as normal user I cannot access to /tmp/tcloop/mylocale and /usr/lib/locale..  doesn't exists.
Regenerating mylocale manually (mksquashfs...) as normal user gives good results.
« Last Edit: September 08, 2010, 03:04:26 PM by jls_legalize »
dCore user

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10048
Re: UTF-8
« Reply #27 on: September 09, 2010, 01:01:25 AM »
Thanks, found the bug. Please delete mylocale.tcz, update getlocale.tcz, and re-generate mylocale.tcz.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7013
    • My Community Forum
Re: UTF-8
« Reply #28 on: September 11, 2010, 04:07:43 AM »
Testing hu_HU.UTF-8 on TC 3.1rc4 GTK2 based applications like LXDE, PCMANFM, filezilla, gnumeric, etc. work fine. MC in LXTERMINAL also displays correct Hungarian text.

However aterm doesn't seems to be UTF-8 friendly, see MC on the attached screenshots.
« Last Edit: September 11, 2010, 04:10:39 AM by bmarkus »
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7013
    • My Community Forum
Re: UTF-8
« Reply #29 on: September 11, 2010, 05:44:39 AM »
aterm gives the same mess on Lubuntu 10.04 so it is not TC specific :P
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."