WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Is there a way to get the TCL version number?  (Read 2247 times)

Offline Xianwen Chen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
Is there a way to get the TCL version number?
« on: June 18, 2010, 11:16:10 AM »
Hi all,

Is there a way of finding out TCL version number from either a file or a script?

Offline erocynit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Is there a way to get the TCL version number?
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2010, 11:25:08 AM »
http://tmml.sourceforge.net/doc/tcl/tclvars.html

tcl_patchLevel
    When an interpreter is created Tcl initializes this variable to hold a string giving the current patch level for Tcl, such as 8.4.16 for Tcl 8.4 with the first sixteen official patches, or 8.5b3 for the third beta release of Tcl 8.5. The value of this variable is returned by the info patchlevel command.

> tclsh

%  puts $tcl_patchLevel
8.3.4

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10957
Re: Is there a way to get the TCL version number?
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2010, 11:32:14 AM »
The "version" command. Look inside to see which file it opens.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline Xianwen Chen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
Re: Is there a way to get the TCL version number?
« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2010, 12:31:50 PM »
http://tmml.sourceforge.net/doc/tcl/tclvars.html

tcl_patchLevel
    When an interpreter is created Tcl initializes this variable to hold a string giving the current patch level for Tcl, such as 8.4.16 for Tcl 8.4 with the first sixteen official patches, or 8.5b3 for the third beta release of Tcl 8.5. The value of this variable is returned by the info patchlevel command.

> tclsh

%  puts $tcl_patchLevel
8.3.4


Hi erocynit,

Thanks a lot for your reply! I'm sorry that I didn't clarify my question. It was abou Tiny Core Linux.


Offline Xianwen Chen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
Re: Is there a way to get the TCL version number?
« Reply #4 on: June 18, 2010, 12:32:12 PM »
The "version" command. Look inside to see which file it opens.

Hi curaga,

Thanks a lot! Problem solved!