WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Make a persistent installation on a USB  (Read 6695 times)

Offline semsaudade

Make a persistent installation on a USB
« on: June 01, 2010, 11:04:59 AM »
Hi to everybody. Forgive me, but I am a newbie of Tinycore Linux. I installed it on a usb key and everything is ok, installing applications is very simple and effective. But I don't know how to make my installations persistent. I tried with Backup/Restore tool but apparently it backups only my home directory and doesn't backup new installed applications. Is there any simple way to do it?

Thanks a lot for helping!

Offline jano

Re: Make a persistent installation on a USB
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2010, 12:35:41 PM »
Not sure I can help, but here are my 2 cents:

* If you want applications to run when booting, you have to add them to the onboot.lst; otherwise, you have to mount them everytime you want them

* Take a look at http://www.tinycorelinux.com/concepts.html you can find an answer : see The Copy Mode of Operation: TCE/Install + copyfs indicator  and / or The Hybrid Mode of Operation: Local/Install

Good luck !

Offline jur

• cycling photo essays

Offline semsaudade

« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2010, 10:20:33 PM »
Sorry, but I tried following explanations in http://www.tinycorelinux.com/concepts.html, particularly the "The Mount Mode of Operation: TCE/Install". So I added the boot option tce=sdc1 in

append initrd=/Tinycore/boot/tinycore.gz quiet max_loop=256 tce=sdc1

Result is that now apparently every installation is broken, simply it doesn't work! For example, I tried to install Abiword (operation that I did with success yesterday). Now installation is very fast, just some seconds (yesterday it lasted a long time, dowloading a lot of dependences), but Abiword doesn't work! The same happens trying to install other apps.

In addition to that, there is no tce directory in my Usb key for permanent storage of applications, nothing was created.