WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: 800x480 resolution for EEEPC  (Read 11615 times)

Offline bbelden

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 11
800x480 resolution for EEEPC
« on: May 07, 2010, 07:58:24 AM »
I am wondering if someone could help to set the resolution for my EEEPC. I see this topic has been covered and somebody has solved the problem but they don't explain the steps needed to accomplish it.
thank you.

Offline bbelden

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: 800x480 resolution for EEEPC
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2010, 11:28:14 AM »
I am part way there. I have loading at startup, 915resolution.tcz and xbdev.tcz. That part works because after I reboot, if I type "sudo 915resolution -l" in a terminal, it returns 800x480 resolution as an option--something it didn't do before. The problem is when I check tce.installed, it shows the default resolution "1024x600". What am I missing?

Thanks

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: 800x480 resolution for EEEPC
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2010, 12:42:27 PM »
Not having such hardware to confirm, I believe, if 915resolution is working, then try adding

/usr/local/sbin/915resolution 50 800 480

to your /opt/bootlocal.sh
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline bbelden

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: 800x480 resolution for EEEPC
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2010, 06:23:50 PM »
If I put 915resolution and parameters in bootlocal, will I have to restart the x server after I do this?

Offline maro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1228
Re: 800x480 resolution for EEEPC
« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2010, 08:36:41 PM »
Yep, because '/opt/bootlocal.sh' gets run (asynchronously) before the X server during the boot process.

So you could either reboot, or if you just want to test things out it might be enough to 'Exit to Prompt' (i.e. terminate the X server), apply your changes (whatever you've added to '/opt/bootlocal.sh'), and start the X server again (i.e. startx)

Offline OldAdamUser2

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
Re: 800x480 resolution for EEEPC
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2010, 04:52:04 AM »
Note the last entry on this thread:

http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php?topic=5490.0

Quote
Quote
..Then sudo 915resolution 45 1024 768 in my case.  On reboot, its back to a dark screen and xvesa has no option to revert to a usable 600x480 like before.

This command will need to be run after the 915resolution extension is loaded on every boot - either you can add it to /opt/bootlocal.sh (and make sure it is in your backup) or make your own customised 915resolution extension with the command in the startup script

Offline bbelden

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: 800x480 resolution for EEEPC
« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2010, 09:01:36 AM »
I'm getting closer. If I load the 915resolution parameters I want in bootlocal, I end up with a screen with messed up colors and incorrect resolution. If I then do "ctrl-alt-backspace, I can't even see what I'm typing, but if I type "startx", I get my session started with proper colors and proper resolution! Any ideas what to do next?
thanks.

Offline bbelden

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: 800x480 resolution for EEEPC
« Reply #7 on: May 08, 2010, 01:54:09 PM »
I think the 915resolution start up script, tce.installed/915resolution, which has the wrong resolution specified in it, is fighting with my 915resolution startup I have in bootlocal. Is there a way for me to modify tce.installed/915resolution startup script? I think it would work better than having 915resolution start in bootlocal.

Offline maro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1228
Re: 800x480 resolution for EEEPC
« Reply #8 on: May 08, 2010, 03:59:11 PM »
The safest way for you to avoid the 915resolution startup script would be to have your own remastered 915resolution extension. You could try the following:
Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ tce-load -wi squashfs-tools-4.0 2> /dev/null
Downloading: squashfs-tools-4.0.tcz
squashfs-tools-4.0.tcz: OK

tc@box:~$ tce-fetch.sh 915resolution.tcz

tc@box:~$ unsquashfs 915resolution.tcz
Parallel unsquashfs: Using 1 processor
2 inodes (5 blocks) to write

[===================================================================|] 5/5 100%
created 2 files
created 5 directories
created 0 symlinks
created 0 devices
created 0 fifos

tc@box:~$ rm -rf squashfs-root/usr/local/tce.installed/915resolution

tc@box:~$ mksquashfs squashfs-root my915resolution.tcz
Parallel mksquashfs: Using 1 processor
Creating 4.0 filesystem on my915resolution.tcz, block size 4096.
[===================================================================|] 4/4 100%
Exportable Squashfs 4.0 filesystem, data block size 4096
        compressed data, compressed metadata, compressed fragments
        duplicates are removed
Filesystem size 6.63 Kbytes (0.01 Mbytes)
        46.74% of uncompressed filesystem size (14.18 Kbytes)
Inode table size 112 bytes (0.11 Kbytes)
        53.33% of uncompressed inode table size (210 bytes)
Directory table size 97 bytes (0.09 Kbytes)
        75.78% of uncompressed directory table size (128 bytes)
Number of duplicate files found 0
Number of inodes 6
Number of files 1
Number of fragments 0
Number of symbolic links  0
Number of device nodes 0
Number of fifo nodes 0
Number of socket nodes 0
Number of directories 5
Number of ids (unique uids + gids) 2
Number of uids 1
        tc (1001)
Number of gids 1
        staff (50)
Or you could change the values in the start-up file to suit your situation, in which case you won't need an entry in '/opt/bootlocal.sh'). That is probably anyway the better option since I assume that your issue might be a race condition between the (asynchronous) execution of '/opt/bootlocal.sh' and the X server start.

Offline bbelden

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: 800x480 resolution for EEEPC
« Reply #9 on: May 08, 2010, 05:21:34 PM »
Maro--Thanks for helping me. How do I change the /tce.installed/915resolution startup file. I have tried deleting it, modifying it and nothing sticks--when I reboot the old file with the incorrect parameters is back.

Thanks, I appreciate everyone's help--I am so close.

Offline maro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1228
Re: 800x480 resolution for EEEPC
« Reply #10 on: May 08, 2010, 05:52:38 PM »
The start-up file (i.e. 'usr/local/tce.installed/915resolution') is part of the extension, hence I was suggesting to remove it (via the 'rm ...' command in my suggested steps). In your case it souds like you plan to change it's contents.

If you want to replace '915resolution.tcz' with 'my915resolution.tcz' you will have to remove the (original) '915resolution.tcz' and replace it with your own 'my915resolution.tcz' in your '.../tce/optional' directory. Please note that '...' stands for the mount point where your hard disk or USB drive partition holding your extensions is mounted to. Furthermore you'll have to change the respective entry in '.../tce/onboot.lst'. Alternatively you don't change the file name and just replace the "original" extension file with your "own" one.


Offline bbelden

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: 800x480 resolution for EEEPC
« Reply #11 on: May 09, 2010, 06:11:56 AM »
I found a fix--at least it appears I have. You were right Maro, since bootlocal gets backgrounded, it's a race to see if bootlocal finishes before Xvesa starts. Since I could reload Xvesa after my machine completed booting and get the proper resolution, I knew this was the case. So I tried putting the 915resolution commands first in my bootlocal file and it worked--boots up with the proper resolution right off the bat. I inserted a comment in my bootlocal file that says: #this command must always run first--so I should be o.k.

Thanks everybody for your help--Tiny Core Rocks!

Offline OldAdamUser2

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
Re: 800x480 resolution for EEEPC
« Reply #12 on: May 10, 2010, 05:16:46 AM »
I found a fix--at least it appears I have. You were right Maro, since bootlocal gets backgrounded, it's a race to see if bootlocal finishes before Xvesa starts. Since I could reload Xvesa after my machine completed booting and get the proper resolution, I knew this was the case. So I tried putting the 915resolution commands first in my bootlocal file and it worked--boots up with the proper resolution right off the bat. I inserted a comment in my bootlocal file that says: #this command must always run first--so I should be o.k.

Thanks everybody for your help--Tiny Core Rocks!

Fascinating discovery, bbelden! Good  work in finding the proper fix.

Offline mwoodruff

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: 800x480 resolution for EEEPC
« Reply #13 on: May 21, 2010, 10:55:42 AM »
As a point of reference for anyone else trying to set up an eee 1001p: I found that for the eee 1001p, which uses a GMA3150 graphics adaptor, 915resolution doesn't work.  (It doesn't recognize the GMA3150.)  However, I met success when I loaded these extensions under Tiny Core V3 alpha 3:
graphics-2.6.33.3-tinycore.tcz
Xfbdev.tcz

Without these extensions loaded, I got a perfectly serviceable 800x600 under Xvesa, but with them loaded I get a beautiful native 1024x600.  (I also tried to get Xorg to work with the graphics extension, and it found the intel driver when directed to look for it.  But all I could get from Xorg was a black screen, and Xfbdev works out of the box.)

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11027
Re: 800x480 resolution for EEEPC
« Reply #14 on: May 21, 2010, 11:24:23 AM »
(I also tried to get Xorg to work with the graphics extension, and it found the intel driver when directed to look for it.  But all I could get from Xorg was a black screen, and Xfbdev works out of the box.)

This might be because you need "options i915 modeset=0" in /etc/modprobe.conf before loading the graphics-2.6.33.3-tinycore extension