WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: /etc/fstab....how do I save my version please?  (Read 2243 times)

aus9

/etc/fstab....how do I save my version please?
« on: April 19, 2010, 04:24:23 AM »
Hi

I am going to regret asking this question.....just to prove I am still a TC newbie but others might not find it easily by searching as its such a common term

What I tried was editting my /etc/fstab.....with root powers....and running rebuildfstab.....then adding

etc/fstab.....to /opt/.filetool.lst

upon reboot it was not working.

2) ok so undid above and put desired copy in my /home/tc....which is persistant and using root powers add a simpe command

cp -f /home/tc/fstab /etc/fstab.....to file /opt/bootlocal.sh

but I am not quite doing it correctly as on reboot I am back to the TC fstab.

3) Anyone know where I am going wrong pls?

As a simple test I removed the # (comments) in case I was doing something illegal....trying to dumb it down.

regards

gordy

PS as a complete newbie.....the filetool.lst dropping the first / caught me out the first time.....I needed to put my glasses on and put my glass of beer down

Offline curaga

• Administrator
Re: /etc/fstab....how do I save my version please?
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2010, 04:47:29 AM »
Doing a backup of it, and adding the bootcode "nofstab" should work.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

aus9

« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2010, 04:26:14 PM »
hi

Short answer

my new fstab is loading thanks

--------------------

longer answer...pls do not read unless you wish to understand a TC newbie

My first error in the earlier post was to issue another "rebuildfstab" command......its obvious when I think about it now....but I was kind of following my rule based on the install guide....that if I do something .....then run that command........I think I need to say.....don't run that rebuildfstab command.