WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: TC Is Now My Primary Work Environment!  (Read 3290 times)

Offline baz

TC Is Now My Primary Work Environment!
« on: February 24, 2010, 09:07:07 AM »
I don't know whether this is considered crazy or not, but I just replaced Ubuntu with TC as my primary work/development OS!

I'm not a light user either - I'm a web application developer for a huge US corporation. I work with databases, Flex, AJAX, Java, Google App Engine, Coldfusion, Web Services, and more. I always have several servers running locally for testing, a big build of Eclipse as my IDE, and multiple instances of VirtualBox going.

My machine is reasonably powerful, with 4gb of ram, and tons of disk space. I have 2x24" monitors in TwinView. I'm running XFCE as my desktop manager - I'd slightly prefer LXDE but XFCE is the only DM that respects TwinView (I think, I know LXDE doesn't).

Besides some superficial quirks, everything's running like a dream with less bugginess and significantly more speed than my Ubuntu.

Just thought I'd share :)

Offline MikeLockmoore

• Good software needn't be big!
Re: TC Is Now My Primary Work Environment!
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2010, 09:55:50 AM »
Awesome!  Keep us informed!  Are you doing anything special for your personal file respository?  The default backup and restore feature of TC base could take a long time if you have lots of project files.
--
Mike L.

Offline baz

« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2010, 10:17:21 AM »
Oh yes, this would not be possible without a persistent setup. My bootcodes are:

quiet opt=sda1 tce=sda1 home=sda2 user=baz host=tineee max_loop=255 noicons showapps settime noautologin pause

Increasing the max_loop was very important.

So the only thing in my .filetool.lst ends up being:

etc/shadow
etc/X11/xorg.conf

One second backup time.

Offline vr

« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2010, 02:50:20 PM »