WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: hd install successfull and not  (Read 1718 times)

Offline littlemathteacher

hd install successfull and not
« on: February 19, 2010, 10:43:25 PM »
I'm a newbie. And I like the whole tinycore concept a lot! It seems to be what I was looking for and what's going to speed up my old notebooks.

But I want to be able to start it on them without first having to look for the CD. So I tried hard disc installs. But I want to do it in a way so that i don't have to use a partiton for TC, just some folders. Is this possible? Let me report:

On the oldest machine there is an apic error which I didn't fix yet.
But amazingly TC is booting and running from harddisc on each of the three other ones.

The best one is a boot by GRUB where /tce and and /tinycore/boot are just lying around on a partition which is used as archive by ubuntu. But never mind. I'm not going to archive folders like "root" and things like thhat. TC seems to have created the folders /root and /usr by itself. All added extensions are present at startup. The best thing: this is the first system in which my alc soundcard is working as it should (thanks to oss). Great!!!

So, now for the other ones, that is the two that don't work so well:

The second one is s Lilo boot. Here TC may use a whole partition for itself. But something is wrong. /boot and /tce are located solely on the first level. TC is running but the funny application panel which looks like taken from the Mac (bottom of the desktop) is missing. DHCP has to be started in the Panel, but then it connects and ping reports transfer. The appbrowser connects and shows the repository, but when I click "Install" a window pops up and says "Error". What's wrong with this install?