WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: screen very dark after bootng  (Read 2531 times)

Offline snork

screen very dark after bootng
« on: February 01, 2010, 12:09:31 PM »
I'm new to Tiny Core. Downloaded and booted from CD. After what appeared to be a normal startup, the screen went blank. I waited a long time, but nothing showed up. The room was rather bright so I didn't notice right away that the system booted properly, but the screen was very, very dark. I could barely see the icons on the bottom. I tried to adjust the brightness on the monitor, but it didn't help.

I rebooted, but the same thing happened. I downloaded the iso again, thinking I got a bad download, but same problem. I then tried it on a different computer. Same thing. I tried it on yet another computer, with the same results.

The three computers are (1)old, (2)newer, (3)very new. Each has a different graphic card.

Any ideas? Again, the bootup text shows bright. Other versions of Linux are running on all computers here.

Offline curaga

• Administrator
Re: screen very dark after bootng
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2010, 12:44:44 PM »
Were all three tries with the same monitor?

If so, there might be something Xvesa doesn't like about it. Xfbdev and Xorg are options.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline ^thehatsrule^

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2010, 02:39:50 PM »
Reducing the resolution (see xsetup) might also help.

Offline snork

« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2010, 03:25:17 PM »
Thanks for the suggestions.

3 different monitors.

Tried to reconfigure X, but it's too hard to read, it's that dark.

I also tried different boot options, but nothing seems to change the end result. This is really strange. I've never seen anything like this before. It's as if someone turned the brightness and contrast down to almost zero on the monitor.